Linkin Park headline Download Festival for the third time

Band lean heavily on new album for closing set

Linkin Park returned to the UK to bring a rain-sodden Download Festival to a close with their third headline set at the event tonight (June 12).

The band, who last topped the bill at the Donington rock bash in 2007, kicked off their 21-song set with ‘The Requiem’, the opening track from their 2010 fourth album ‘A Thousand Suns’. They then drew material from across their career with four tracks from their multi-million selling debut ‘Hybrid Theory’ featuring in the set, including the closing ‘One Step Closer’.

Frontmen Mike Shinoda and Chester Bennington liberally dished out the “thank yous” to the crowd as the band, who also headlined the festival in 2004, brought this year’s three-day event to a close. System Of A Down headlined the bash on Saturday night, while Def Leppard headlined on Friday.

Linkin Park played:

‘The Requiem’
‘Lying From You’
‘Given Up’
‘What I’ve Done’
‘When They Come For Me’
‘No More Sorrow’
‘Waiting For The End’
‘Wisdom, Justice And Love’
‘The Radiance’
‘Breaking The Habit’
‘The Catalyst’
‘New Divide’
‘In The End’
‘Bleeding Out’/’Burning Skies’/’A Place For My Head’
‘One Step Closer’

NME.COM is coming live from the Isle Of Wight Festival and Download this weekend. Stay tuned to NME.COM/festivals/isle-of-wight and NME.COM/festivals/download for news, blogs, photo galleries and video interviews from both sites.