Maximo Park’s Paul Smith to release solo album

'Margins' is set for release in October

Maximo Park‘s Paul Smith is to release his debut solo album on October 11.

‘Margins’, co-produced by Andy Hodson and featuring contributions from Field Music‘s David Brewis and Peter Brewis, will be released on Smith‘s own Billingham Records label.

Smith said that Maximo Park were still going despite his move into working under his own name, saying: “I’m not ‘going solo’ – it’s not like George Michael leaving Wham!.”

A song from the album, ‘North Atlantic Drift’, is available as a free download from

The tracklisting of ‘Margins’ is:

‘North Atlantic Drift’
‘The Crush And The Shatter’
‘Strange Friction’
‘While You’re In The Bath’
‘This Heat’
‘I Drew You Sleeping’
‘Alone, I Would’ve Dropped’
‘Dare Not Dive’
‘I Wonder If’
‘Our Lady Of Lourdes’
‘The Tingles’

See next week’s issue of NME, on UK newsstands from August 11, for an exclusive interview with Paul Smith about going solo.