Neil Young developing new audio format

Rocker trademarks 'Ivanhoe' and 'Thanks For Listening' as possible names for MP3 alternative

Neil Young is developing a new audio format, according to reports.

The Crazy Horse rocker is developing a high-resolution alternative to the MP3, according to Rolling Stone, and has trademarked several possible names for the project.

Young – who has previously griped about the quality of modern recorded music – has submitted a shortlist of possible monikers including Ivanhoe, 21st Century Record Player, Earth Storage, Storage Shed, Thanks For Listening and SQS (Studio Quality Sound).

It is thought that the development process will take around one year to complete, while the patent outlines plans for “high resolution music downloadable from the internet” and “high resolution discs featuring music and video of music”.

Meanwhile, a press statement for Young’s forthcoming memoir possibly sheds more light on his plans, reading: “Young is also personally spearheading the development of Pono, a revolutionary new audio music system presenting the highest digital resolution possible, the studio quality sound that artists and producers heard when they created their original recordings.”

It added: “Young wants consumers to be able to take full advantage of Pono’s cloud-based libraries of recordings by their favorite artists and, with Pono, enjoy a convenient music listening experience that is superior in sound quality to anything ever presented.”

In January of this year, Young claimed that the sound of modern music made him “angry” and said that today’s audio quality is the “worst sound we’ve ever had”.

In February, meanwhile, he said that late Apple boss Steve Jobs would have helped him preserve the sound quality of vinyl and also insisted that digital downloads were “degrading” the standard of audio.

Neil Young will release a new album with Crazy Horse titled ‘Americana’ on June 5. The record is Young’s first with Crazy Horse since 2003 and the first album with the full Crazy Horse line-up of Billy Talbot, Ralph Molina and Frank Sampedro since 1996’s ‘Broken Arrow’.