New Order sign to Mute Records for new album

No further details on the band's tenth album have been announced

New Order have signed with long-standing independent label Mute Records.

The Manchester band have announced their next record will be released by Mute, though no further details on what will be their tenth studio album have been announced. However, label founder Daniel Miller has revealed that he heard some new material prior to signing the group.

“This is an exciting new chapter for both Mute and New Order and I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history,” said Miller in a statement. “When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order. We’ve already had a number of creative conversations, and I am looking towards an exciting future.”

“New Order are delighted to be signing to Mute,” added the band. “We couldn’t imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team. Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots.”

Mute was established in 1978. The label has since released music by Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Wire, Depeche Mode, Goldfrapp and Erasure, among many others.

Yesterday (September 1), DFA Records denied reports that New Order are recording with former LCD Soundsystem man James Murphy. The band’s frontman Bernard Sumner and bass player Tom Chapman had suggested in an interview that they could be set to work with the producer in the near future. However, a tweet sent by the New York-based label clarified that is not the case.