Palma Violets debut new tracks at Tunbridge Wells Forum’s 20th anniversary show

The NME cover stars are set to release debut album '180' on February 25

Palma Violets headlined Tunbridge Wells Forum’s 20th anniversary celebrations last night (January 9), debuting two new tracks during their 45-minute set.

Last week’s NME cover stars, who shared the front page with BBC Sound of 2013 winners Haim, took to the stage at 10.15pm, entering with live favourite ‘Rattlesnake Highway’, before ripping through most of the tracks on their forthcoming album.

The night marked the quartet’s first UK live outing in three months, following a period holed up in the studio with Pulp bassist Steve Mackey. Despite the live absence, the band still caused stage invasions, jumping into the crowd and creating moshpits throughout the set.

The band played first single ‘Best of Friends’ and live staple ‘Tom The Drum’ alongside two new songs – ‘Three Stars’, based on an Eddie Cochran song, and ‘Johnny Bagga Donuts’, a straight up punk rock number helmed by bassist Chilli Jesson.

Finishing up with ’14’, they then launched into ‘Brand New Song’, after the crowd yelled for them to continue the encore, with Jesson and singer Sam Fryer both stage diving into the throng.

Last year Tunbridge Wells Forum was voted Best Small Venue in the UK in a poll by NME readers.

Palma Violets will release ‘180’ through Rough Trade on February 25 along with the single ‘Step Up For The Cool Cats’.

Palma Violets played:

‘Rattlesnake Highway’
‘All The Garden Birds’
‘Tom The Drum’
‘Chicken Dippers’
‘Best Of Friends’
‘Step Up For The Cool Cats’
‘I Found Love’
‘Three Stars’
‘Johnny Bagga Donuts’
‘Brand New Song’