Phoenix announce new album details and tracklisting

Buy Tickets

French rockers will release the follow-up to 'Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix' on April 22

Phoenix have announced further details of their forthcoming new album ‘Bankrupt!’.

The French rockers will release their fifth album and the follow-up to 2009’s ‘Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix’ on April 22, according to a scripted message on their website. You can see the album artwork above.

The band have been working on the record since 2011 and recently revealed that it was recorded on the same console as Michael Jackson‘s 1982 album, ‘Thriller’. Guitarist Laurent Brancowitz bought the Harrison 4032 console on eBay for $17,000 (£10,826). Singer Thomas Mars said the band purchased the console because they “liked the idea of working with a consecrated artefact, as well as having something strange upon which to fixate between albums”.

Singer Thomas Mars said: “The most mysterious part to me was that no one else – no nerd or music engineer or memorabilia freak – seemed to want it,” he added. The console was shipped to Paris for the recording sessions for ‘Bankrupt!’, and the group originally toyed with naming the record ‘Alternative Thriller’.

The tracklisting to ‘Bankrupt’ is as follows:

‘The Real Thing’
‘SOS In Bel Air’
‘Trying To Be Cool’
‘Drakkar Noir’
‘Oblique City’

Phoenix will headline this April’s Coachella Valley Festival of Music and Arts in California, and also play the Rock am Ring and Rock im Park festivals in Germany, which take place from July 7-9.