Frank Black, Eddie Argos, Courtney Taylor-Taylor to release Lee Hazelwood tribute album

Thriftstore Masterpiece project to release 'Trouble Is A Lonesome Town' this July

Pixies singer Frank Black, Dandy Warhols frontman Courtney Taylor-Taylor and Art Brut‘s Eddie Argos are among the names who have recorded a cover version of Lee Hazelwood’s cult album ‘Trouble Is A Lonesome Town’.

Recording under the name Thriftstore Masterpiece, the album – which also includes contributions from Pete Yorn and Modest Mouse’s Isaac Brock – will be released on July 9, which would have been the date of Hazelwood’s 80th birthday. He passed away after losing a battle with renal cancer in August 2007. He released the original album in 1963.

The project was overseen by producer Charles Normal, who originally planned to record it with Black and his brother and singer Larry Norman. Norman died in 2008 after suffering a heart attack, but Modest Mouse frontman Brock inspired Norman to rope in more collaborators and finish the LP. Speaking about the album to the Wall Street Journal, Normal said: “I thought that would be cool, to record these songs as if it was a band doing a cover, but I didn’t really have a band in mind.”

The tracklisting of Thrifstore Masterpiece’s ‘Trouble Is A Lonesome Town’ is as follows:

‘Long Black Train’ featuring Frank Black
‘Ugly Brown’ featuring Larry Norman
‘Song Of A Gun’ featuring Frank Black
‘We All Make The Flowers Grow’ featuring Kristin Blix
‘Run Boy Run’ featuring Frank Black
‘Six Feet Of Chain’ featuring Pete Yorn
‘The Railroad’ featuring Isaac Brock
‘Look At That Woman’ featuring Courtney Taylor-Taylor
‘Peculiar Guy’ featuring Eddie Argos
‘Trouble Is A Lonesome Town’ featuring Larry Norman