Thom Yorke christens solo band and announces more gigs and ticket details

Flea and Nigel Godrich also feature in Yorke's 'Eraser' band

Thom Yorke has named his new solo side-project band Atoms For Peace.

Alongside Yorke, the band features Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Beck and R.E.M cohort Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco of Forro In The Dark.

Writing on Radiohead‘s Dead Air Space blog, Yorke said the name “seemed bleedin’ obvious”.

The band, who made their debut in Los Angeles in October, have also announced a series of US gigs set to take place this April.

New York Roseland Ballroom (April 5, 6)
Boston Citi Wang Theatre (8)
Chicago Aragon Ballroom (10, 11)
Oakland Fox Theatre (14, 15)
Santa Barbara Bowl (17)

Tickets go on sale on March 2. See for more information.

Atoms For Peace are also set to play this year’s Coachella festival.

Yorke is set to play a solo show tonight (February 25) in Cambridge – see NME.COM for full coverage.