Ex-Suede man wins top producer award

Bernard Butler also bags a BRIT Award

Former Suede guitarist Bernard Butler was named Producer Of The Year at the inaugural Music Producers Guild Awards 2009 in London last night (February 12).

Butler, who has produced albums for Duffy, Black Kids, Tricky and 1990s, was presented his award by Duffy.

The prize also earns Butler the BRIT Award for Best Producer.

The awards, which took place at London‘s Cafe de Paris, saw Danger Mouse, Calvin Harris and Bloc Party producer Paul Epworth win awards.

The full list of winners at the Music Producers Guild Awards 2009 are as follows:

Producer of The Year – sponsored by the BPI: Bernard Butler

Nominees: Bernard Bulter; Brian Eno; Steve Mac

Recording Engineer of The Year – sponsored by Prism Sound: James Towler

Nominees: Haydn Bendall; James Towler; Markus Dravs

Best Mix Engineer – sponsored by Digidesign: Cenzo Townshend

Nominees: Andy Bradfield; Cenzo Townsend; Tom Elmhirst

Best Mastering Engineer – sponsored by SADiE: Ray Staff

Nominees: John Davis; Ray Staff; Tim Young

Best International Producer of the Year – sponsored by RAK Studios: Danger Mouse

Nominees: Danger Mouse; Mark Ronson; Robert John ‘Mutt’ Lange

Best Live Album of The Year (08) – sponsored by Shure: Girls Aloud – ‘Tangled Up’

Nominees: David Gilmour – ‘Live In Gdansk’; Girls Aloud – ‘Tangled Up’; Nephu Huzzband – ‘Live In London’

UK Album of The Year (08) – sponsored by Cream Recording Studios: Elbow – ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’

Nominees: Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends’; Duffy – ‘Rockferry’; Elbow – ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’

UK Single of The Year (08) – sponsored by Discovering Arts: Elbow – ‘One Day Like This’

Nominees: Duffy – ‘Mercy’; Elbow – ‘One Day Like This’; Radiohead – ‘Nude’

The Joe Meek Award for Innovation In Production – sponsored by Music Producers Guild: Brian Eno

Nominees: Brian Eno; Bjork; Mark Ronson

Best Re-mixer – sponsored by CMU: Calvin Harris

Nominees: Calvin Harris; Dan Turner; Gareth Jones

Best Newcomer – sponsored by Deep Recording Studios: Paul Epworth

Nominees: Dan Hulme; Paul Epworth; Steve Booker

Best Studio – sponsored by TL Audio: British Grove Studios

Nominees: Abbey Road; AIR Lyndhurst; British Grove Studios

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Alchemea: Andy McBride

Nominees: Andy McBride; Crispin Murray; Xavier Stephenson

Music Producers Guild Special Recognition Award: Chris Blair