Super Furry Animals and Zutons to headline Brighton festival

Beachdown 2009 line-up announced

Super Furry Animals and The Zutons will headline this year’s Beachdown Festival.

The bands top the bill at the Brighton festival that takes place between August 28-31.

Also among thise playing the event are Saint Etienne, Grandmaster Flash, The Fall, James Taylor Quartet, Sugarhill Gang and Norman Jay.

The line-up so far is:

4 or 5 Magicians

Acid House Brass Band by The Williams Fairey Brass Ensemble

Chris Simmons

Cordelia Fellowes’ Gypsy Squat Pop Project


Drookit Dogs

Gilles Peterson

Gloria Cycles

Grandmaster Flash

James Taylor Quartet

Jazz Cotech Dancers


Joey Negro

Lack of Afro

Los Albertos

Mean Poppa Lean

Norman Jay Good Times

Nostalgia 77 Octet

Ocean Reid


Prince Buster

Rebel Control

Saint Etienne

Saw Gang Buzz

Secret Affair


Snowboy And The Latin Section

Sugarhill Gang

Super Furry Animals

Sweet Sweet Lies

The Apples

The Beautiful Word

The Blockheads

The Fall

The Fantastics!

The New Mastersounds

The Perils

The Sunburst Band

The Zutons


Tru Thoughts

Two Spot Gobi

More acts are expected to be announced soon.

To check the availability of Beachdown Festival tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/GIGS now, or call 0871 230 1094.