The Courteeners announce Manchester gig with huge support acts

Liam Fray and co are set for a huge homecoming show Emirates Old Trafford

The Courteeners have announced details of a huge Manchester homecoming show, supported by [a]The Charlatans, Blossoms and Cabbage.

The ‘Not Nineteen Forever’ quartet are set to follow-up their upcoming November UK tour with a show at Emirates Old Trafford in May. Full dates and ticket details are below.

The band, who are set to release their new album ‘Mapping The ‘Rendezvous’ on 28 October, will be supported by a trio of celebrated local acts – with Manchester heroes The Charlatans, Stockport’s Blossoms and rising guitar stars Cabbage.

Read more: Hear Cabbage’s huge new EP here and check out our Under The Radar interview

“At the beginning, I think people needed someone [to be a mouthpiece] because it was all a bit dull,” frontman Liam Fray told NME about his reputation in the media. “I wouldn’t say I played up to it; I’d say I was like every other person in the country after they’ve had five pints. I’m not an arsehole or rude, I’m just honest. People think I’m this bolshy guy and it’s very difficult to not do that when I’m on stage, because I can’t imagine going out in front of 25,000 people and staring at my feet. But offstage, I don’t feel I’m like that. I genuinely feel like I’m more of a bedroom loner at times.”

The Courteeners’ full upcoming UK tour dates are below. Tickets to the November tour are on sale now, while tickets to the Manchester Old Trafford show are on sale from 9am on Friday 21 October.

Thu November 10 2016 – STOKE Victoria Hall
Fri November 11 2016 – SOUTHAMPTON O2 Guildhall
Sat November 12 2016 – LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Mon November 14 2016 – BRISTOL O2 Academy Bristol
Tue November 15 2016 – NORWICH UEA
Thu November 17 2016 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Fri November 18 2016 – LIVERPOOL Echo Arena
Sat November 19 2016 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Mon November 21 2016 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Tue November 22 2016 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Thu November 24 2016 – CARLISLE Sands Centre
Fri November 25 2016 – LEEDS first direct Arena
Sat May 27 2017 – MANCHESTER Emirates Old Trafford