This Week’s New Music Releases: 8 February 2010

Albums and singles released in the UK today

Massive Attack return with new album ‘Heligoland’ today (February 8), alongside other new releases from Fionn Regan, Yeasayer and Gil Scott-Heron.

In the singles world, Shockwaves NME Awards Tour headliners The Maccabees release their collaboration with Roots Manuva (‘Empty Vessels’), alongside the Simon Cowell-organised Haiti benefit single, which is a cover of R.E.M‘s ‘Everybody Hurts’.

Albums released today:
Fionn Regan – ‘Shadow Of An Empire’
Gil Scott-Heron – ‘I’m New Here’
HIM – ‘Screamworks: Love In Theory & Practice’
Los Campesinos – ‘Romance Is Boring’
Massive Attack – ‘Heligoland’
Seasick Steve – ‘Songs For Elisabeth’
Yeasayer – ‘Odd Blood’

Singles released today:
Calvin Harris – ‘You Used To Hold Me’
Esben & The Witch – ‘Lucia At The Precipice’
Field Music – ‘Them That Do Nothing’
Helping Haiti – ‘Everybody Hurts’
The Maccabees featuring Roots Manuva – ‘Empty Vessels’
The Novellos – ‘Not So Sure’
The Soft Pack – ‘C’mon’