Today’s new album releases: The Gaslight Anthem, FKA Twigs, Childhood and more

Plus, new albums from A Sunny Day In Glasgow, Falty DL and Porter Robinson

The Gaslight Anthem lead this week’s list of new album releases (August 4) with ‘Get Hurt’.

The album is The Gaslight Anthem’s fifth studio effort and sees the band move away from the Springsteen-influenced sound heard on their first four releases.

Speaking about the change in sound the band have undergone during the making of the LP, frontman Brian Fallon recently told NME: “You get a realisation at some point in your career that whatever it is you do, you can no longer continue to do it. You just realise you can’t put out the same records forever.”

Key to this change was The 1975 and their debut album. The band tracked down producer Mike Crossey in an effort to see if they could tap into something similar to the British group. “We were like, ‘Well, that sounds different – what would happen if a band like us works with a guy who makes records sound like that?'” said Fallon.

The frontman even admits that he surprised himself with the album. “I think people are going to be like, ‘Wow, I didn’t know a band that play punk rock could play something that heavy, or something that pretty.’ I think also there are some sings that are realy calm, and I don’t know if people knew that we could do that. I didn’t know that we could do that.”

Elsewhere, new albums from A Sunny Day In Glasgow, Falty DL, Porter Robinson and Sinead O’Connor are out today while FKA twigs and Childhood both release their debut albums.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Alex Clare – Three Hearts
A Sunny Day In Glasgow – ‘Sea When Absent’
Bear Hands – Distraction
Childhood – ‘Lacuna’
Falty DL – ‘In The Wild’
FKA twigs – ‘LP1’
The Gaslight Anthem – ‘Get Hurt’
Grumbling Fur – ‘Preternaturals’
Porter Robinson – ‘Worlds’
Sinead O’Connor – ‘I’m Not Bossy I’m The Boss’

Read more NME album reviews here.