Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem and Beastie Boys collaborators for Latitude’s William Onyeabor tribute

The Atomic Bomb! Who Is William Onyeabor? show will take place on Sunday afternoon at the festival

Members of Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem and Beastie Boys collaborators are set to take part in a tribute to elusive West African synth musician William Onyeabor at Latitude Festival later this month.

Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip) Pat Mahoney (LCD Soundsystem), Money Mark (Beastie Boys), Sinkane, Scritti Politti and Mahotella Queens will perform as part of the Atomic Bomb! Who Is William Onyeabor? show on the Sunday afternoon of the festival (July 20). The Atomic Bomb! band was founded by David Byrne to celebrate the music of Onyeabor.

Onyeabor released eight albums between 1977 and 1985 and last year the Luaka Bop label released the acclaimed ‘Who Is William Onyeabor?’, which bought the since retired Nigerian musician’s work to a global audience.

In April of this year Damon Albarn, Kele Okereke from Bloc Party, Hot Chip‘s Alexis Taylor and Ghostpoet joined forces for a similar show to the Latitude event at London’s Barbican. Shows have also taken place in North America.

In London the indie cast was joined by Beastie Boys’ keyboardist Money Mark, LCD Soundsystem’s former drummer Pat Mahoney, Nigerian Afrobeat twins The Lijadu Sisters and a raft of New York and Nigerian musicians, who were led by musical director and Yeasayer multi-instrumentalist Ahmed Gallab. Albarn took lead vocals for ‘Fantastic Man’ and Alexis Taylor performed Hot Chip’s cover of slower number ‘Atomic Bomb’.

Damon Albarn is one of the headliners of this year’s Latitude, and the festival has promised that the William Onyeabor show will feature “surprise guests”. The festivals other two headliners are The Black Keys and Two Door Cinema Club.

Latitude 2014 will take place from July 17-20 at Henham Park in Southwold, Suffolk. For more information, visit