NME Photo Awards winners announced

Winning photos and other entries available to view online now

The winners of the 2010 NME Music Photography Awards With Nikon have been announced this morning (November 3).

The competition saw both amateur and professional photographers enter their music-related pictures over the past few months to be judged by an expert panel including world-famous rock photographers Pennie Smith, Jill Furmanovsky and Dean Chalkley, along with NME editor Krissi Murison.

See below for a full list of winners for the different categories, and see NME.COM/photos for a closer look at them and a selection of the best other entries.

Winning photos, along with a selection from the recipient of this year’s Outstanding Achievement Award, Andy Willsher, have gone on display at the British Music Experience at the O2 Arena in London until the end of November.

The winners of the NME Music Photography Awards With Nikon are:

Category: Professional
Winner: Paula Gillespie
Highly commended: Kate Hibberd

Category: 14 and under
Winner: Wouter Loeve
Highly commended: Miranda Mungai

Category: Reportage
Winner: Rob Marrison
Highly commended: Martin Cohen, Emmett McLaughlin

Category: Portrait – winning photo pictured
Winner: Jason Williamson
Highly commended: Ben Newman, Zosia Swidlicka

Category: Live
Winner: Joe Watson
Highly commended: Bart Pettman, Kylie Keene

Category: Festival
Winner: James Berry
Highly commended: Olivier Bourgi

Category: Aged 15-17
Winner: Alexandra Apolenová
Highly commended: Jordan Hughes, Matt Richardson

Overall Grand Prix Winner
Jason Williamson

Outstanding Achievement Award: Andy Willsher, see Andywillsher.com for more information

See NME.COM/photos to view the winning pictures.