Bernard Butler, Mark Ronson lead nominations for producers awards

The awards celebrate the best in music production from the past year

The nominations for the inaugural Music Producers Guild Awards have been announced today (January 7), with many of the industry’s leading recording professionals recognised.

Among those nominated are ex-Suede guitarist Bernard Butler, who has produced tracks for Duffy, Black Kids and Tricky. Bloc Party and Kate Nash producer Paul Epworth is nominated for the Best Newcomer award, while Mark Ronson will take on Brian Eno and Bjork in The Joe Meek Award For Innovation In Production category.

The winner of the award for Producer Of The Year, for which Butler is nominated along with Eno and Steve Mac, will also receive this year’s BRIT Award for Best Producer.

The 2009 Music Producers Guild Awards takes place at London‘s Cafe de Paris on February 12.

The full list of nominations is:

Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BPI

Bernard Butler

Brian Eno

Steve Mac

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

Cenzo Townsend

Haydn Bendall

James Towler

Best Mix Engineer, sponsored by Digidesign

Andy Bradfield

Markus Dravs

Tom Elmhirst

Best Mastering Engineer

John Davis

Ray Staff

Tim Young

Best Live album, sponsored by Shure

David Gilmour – ‘Live In Gdansk’

Girls Aloud – ‘Tangled Up’

Nephu Huzzband – ‘Live In London’

UK Album of the Year 08

Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends’

Duffy – ‘Rockferry’

Elbow – ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’

UK Single of the Year 08

Duffy – ‘Mercy’

Elbow – ‘One Day Like This’

Radiohead – ‘Nude’

Best Remixer

Calvin Harris

Dan Turner

Gareth Jones

The Joe Meek Award for Innovation in Production

Brian Eno


Mark Ronson

Best Newcomer, sponsored by Deep Recording Studios

Dan Hulme

Paul Epworth

Steve Booker

Best Studio, sponsored by TL Audio

Abbey Road

AIR Lyndhurst

British Grove Studios

Best International Producer of the Year, sponsored by RAK Studios

Danger Mouse (AKA Brian Burton)

Mark Ronson

Robert John ‘Mutt’ Lange

A final award, for Unsung Hero, is being voted for by readers of Pro Sound News Europe.