Of Montreal announce release of 12th studio album

Titled 'lousy with sylvianbriar', the album will be available in the UK from October 7

Of Montreal announce release of 12th studio album
Of Montreal have announced the release of their 12th studio album.

Titled 'lousy with sylvianbriar', the album will be available from October 7 in the UK and October 8 worldwide. Opening track 'fugitive air' is streaming online now and you can listen to it here

Frontman Kevin Barnes lists Bob Dylan, Neil Young and Big Star as influences on the album, which was recorded in just three weeks at his home studio in Athens, Georgia.

"I knew I wanted the process to be more in line with the way people used to make albums in the late '60s and early '70s," Barnes said in a statement. "I wanted to work fast and to maintain a high level of spontaneity and immediacy. I wanted the songs to be more lyric driven, and for the instrumental arrangements to be understated and uncluttered."

In addition, 'lousy with sylvianbriar' features several appearances from vocalist Rebecca Cash, including a duet with Barnes on 'raindrop in my skull'.

The album is the band's follow up to last year's 'Paralytic Stalks' LP.

The 'lousy with sylvianbriar' tracklisting is:

'fugitive air'
'obsidian currents'
'belle glade missionaries'
'sirens of your toxic spirit'
'triumph of disintegration'
'amphibian days'
'she ain't speakin' now'
'hegira émigré'
'raindrop in my skull'
'imbecile rages'

Read More On This Artist

Of Montreal Merchandise
More News
Run The Jewels' Killer Mike calls for more minority-owned record labels during university...
Gwilym Gold announces details of new album 'A Paradise' - hear first song now
Ciara previews two new songs from forthcoming album 'Jackie'
Bianca Jagger disputes 40 year old story about arriving at Studio 54 on a white horse
Chance The Rapper remixes Jeremih's 'Planes' - listen
Bruce Jenner: 'Kanye West helped Kim Kardashian accept my male to female transition'
Justin Bieber settles out of court with photographer who accused him of assault
Slipknot frontman says he turned down chance to star in US reality dating show
Danny Brown reveals new album is almost finished but 'ain't coming out no time soon'
Heroin arrest turned Sky Ferreira into 'punching bag for chauvinistic media', says DIIV...
Elvis Costello makes final appearance on 'Letterman' - watch
Paul McCartney announces US arena show
Metallica's 'The Black Album' inspired by 'Wicked Game' singer Chris...
Alex James says there was 'ill feeling' among Blur before their reunion
Elton John, Lady Gaga offer support to Bruce Jenner's transgender reveal
Taylor Swift's '1989' louder than AC/DC's 'Back In Black', claims...
Black Sabbath's Bill Ward: 'I missed Ozzy Osbourne so much it was devastating'
Paul Weller on David Cameron's love for The Jam's 'Eton Rifles': 'Which...
Crystal Castles' Ethan Kath responds to Alice Glass' criticisms
Ice Cube premieres new footage from 'Straight Outta Compton' at CinemaCon
Moby to open vegan restaurant in Los Angeles
The Replacements recording new material

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM