September 29, 2008 14:29

Paul McCartney to release new dance album as The Fireman

New release also quashes rumours McCartney was attacking EMI

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney is to release a new album this November under his dance music alter-ego The Fireman.

'Electronic Arguments' is released on November 17. The album has 13 tracks (all written by McCartney), and is the first album by The Fireman to feature vocals.

The release seemingly extinguishes recent rumours suggesting McCartney had launched an attack on his former record label EMI.

Promotional sleeves of the album showing what looked like the letters 'E', 'M' and 'I' were distributed last week (September 22), leading some commentators to believe McCartney was using the sleeve to make a comment about the label.

However, as predicted by NME.COM, the release of 'Electronic Arguments' indicates that the word actually being spelt out is actually E, M and part of the A from 'Fireman'.

McCartney, alongside Killing Joke member and The Verve producer Youth, has been making music under the name The Fireman sporadically since 1993. The duo's last official album was 1998's 'Rushes'.

The full tracklisting for 'Electronic Arguments' is:

'Nothing Too Much Just Out Of Sight'
'Two Magpies'
'Sing The Changes'
'Travelling Light'
'Light From Your Lighthouse'
'Sun Is Shining'
'Dance 'Til We're High'
'Lifelong Passion'
'Is This Love?'
'Lovers In A Dream'
'Universal Here, Everlasting Now'
'Don't Stop Running'

The album was recorded in 13 days over a period of nearly a year, with each individual track being written and recorded in the space of just one day.

'Nothing Too Much Just Out Of Sight' is set to be premiered tonight (September 29) on Zane Lowe's BBC Radio 1 show.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more
Arcade Fire cover Wolf Parade during final, homecoming Reflektor tour show – watch
Superfood and Honeyblood to play NME New Breed Tour
Foals and The Antlers to feature in Transgressive Records' free September downloads
Representative for Ariana Grande denies leaked nude photos are real
Franz Ferdinand, Mogwai and Frightened Rabbit to headline pro-Scottish independence gig
Royal Blood announce UK tour dates – O2 Priority Ticket details

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today