October 21, 2004 8:15


The band have the US presidential elections covered…

A PERFECT CIRCLE have announced plans to release their new album ’eMOTIVe’ on the same day as the US presidential election (November 2).

The album contains two new tracks from the band and ten cover versions of political songs including Depeche Mode’s ’What’s Going On’, Black Flag’s ’Gimme Gimme Gimme’, Joni Mitchell’s ’Fiddle And The Drum’ and John Lennon’s ’People Are People’.

Alongside the new A Perfect Circle songs, ’Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of the War Drums’ and ’Passive’, the band will also tackle [a][/a]’s ’Imagine’, Devo’s ’Freedom Of Choice’ and ’When The Levee Breaks’, made famous by Led Zeppelin.

’eMOTIVe’ is A Perfect Circle’s third full-length album, following 2000’s ’Mer De Noms’ and 2003’s ’Thirteenth Step’.

An animated video for ’Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums’ can be seen on the band’s website aperfectcircle.com where there is also a message from singer Maynard James Keenan exhorting fans to vote in the election: "If you choose not to be involved with decisions that affect your life on a daily basis, in our opinion, you forfeit your right to complain about it later."

The ’eMOTIVe’ tracklisting is:



‘(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding’

‘Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums’

‘What’s Going On’

‘When The Levee Breaks’

‘Freedom Of Choice’

‘People Are People’


‘Gimme Gimme Gimme’

‘Let’s Have A War’

‘Fiddle And The Drum’

Read More On This Artist

Perfect Circle Merchandise
More News
Arctic Monkeys serenade Lisbon's Nos Alive festival with 'love song'
Bat For Lashes unveils new song 'Skin Song' - listen
Manic Street Preachers' Nicky Wire: ''Futurology' is one of our most...
The Vines share video for new single 'Metal Zone' - watch
Azealia Banks reportedly 'free' from Interscope recording contract
Zach Braff discusses Coldplay and Bon Iver-featuring soundtrack to new movie Wish I Was Here
Limp Bizkit at Glastonbury? 'I doubt we'll ever be invited'
Mick Jagger laughs off claims he is to blame from Brazil's 7-1 World Cup defeat
Robin Thicke album 'sells less than 54 copies' in Australia, according to reports
Poll result: NME readers do not want to see pyrotechnic flares banned from music festivals
T In The Park weather update: Warm and sunny to begin with before longer spells of rain
Sinead O'Connor replaces Bobby Womack as Womad headliner
Kasabian's Serge Pizzorno teams up with Noel Fielding for second series of 'Luxury...
Nick Cave to perform live at Barbican screening of '20,000 Days On Earth' documentary
Sonisphere organisers 'shocked' by festival attack which left 21-year-old male...
Green Day bassist Mike Dirnt to produce indie film
N-Dubz confirm plans for 2015 reunion and vow to 'come back like Black Eyed Peas'
Courtney Love lists sex as her 'favourite obsession'
Ellie Goulding breaks up crowd fight at Eden Project gig
Sum 41's Deryck Whibley says Iggy Pop is supporting his recovery from alcohol addiction
Burzum's Varg Vikernes found guilty of inciting racial hatred
Bruce Springsteen debuts short film for 'Hunter Of Invisible Game' – watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today