Frank Black, Eddie Argos, Courtney Taylor-Taylor to release Lee Hazelwood tribute album

Thriftstore Masterpiece project to release 'Trouble Is A Lonesome Town' this July

Frank Black, Eddie Argos, Courtney Taylor-Taylor to release Lee Hazelwood tribute album

Photo: PA

Pixies singer Frank Black, Dandy Warhols frontman Courtney Taylor-Taylor and Art Brut's Eddie Argos are among the names who have recorded a cover version of Lee Hazelwood's cult album 'Trouble Is A Lonesome Town'.

Recording under the name Thriftstore Masterpiece, the album - which also includes contributions from Pete Yorn and Modest Mouse's Isaac Brock - will be released on July 9, which would have been the date of Hazelwood's 80th birthday. He passed away after losing a battle with renal cancer in August 2007. He released the original album in 1963.

The project was overseen by producer Charles Normal, who originally planned to record it with Black and his brother and singer Larry Norman. Norman died in 2008 after suffering a heart attack, but Modest Mouse frontman Brock inspired Norman to rope in more collaborators and finish the LP. Speaking about the album to the Wall Street Journal, Normal said: "I thought that would be cool, to record these songs as if it was a band doing a cover, but I didn't really have a band in mind."

The tracklisting of Thrifstore Masterpiece's 'Trouble Is A Lonesome Town' is as follows:

'Long Black Train' featuring Frank Black
'Ugly Brown' featuring Larry Norman
'Song Of A Gun' featuring Frank Black
'We All Make The Flowers Grow' featuring Kristin Blix
'Run Boy Run' featuring Frank Black
'Six Feet Of Chain' featuring Pete Yorn
'The Railroad' featuring Isaac Brock
'Look At That Woman' featuring Courtney Taylor-Taylor
'Peculiar Guy' featuring Eddie Argos
'Trouble Is A Lonesome Town' featuring Larry Norman

Read More On This Artist

More News
Fans react to news of Tom Delonge's departure from Blink-182
Carl Barât on new Libertines album: 'I'm proud of what we've written so far'
O2 Priority Tickets for The Vaccines, Elbow, Nicki Minaj and more available tomorrow
Alabama Shakes, Django Django and Slaves announced for The Great Escape 2015
Chris Robinson on The Black Crowes' split: 'It's more complicated than Rich's...
Blink-182 confirm split from 'disrespectful and ungrateful' Tom DeLonge
Stereophonics, Van Morrison, Paul Weller, The Who, Noel Gallagher to headline Teenage Cancer Trust
Babes In Toyland announce May 2015 UK reunion tour
Tom DeLonge denies leaving Blink-182
The Prodigy share 'The Day Is My Enemy' title track - listen
Catfish And The Bottlemen cover The Killers' 'Read My Mind' - watch
London's 12 Bar Club re-opened by squatters
All We Are stream debut album online
Ariel Pink unveils 'Dayzed Inn Daydreams' video – watch
Muse confirm new album title 'Drones' in latest in-the-studio video
Noel Gallagher, Florence And The Machine and The Prodigy to play Benicàssim 2015
Coldplay, Ed Sheeran, Mark Ronson to headline disability-friendly gigs
Dave Grohl won't appear in Kurt Cobain documentary 'Cobain: Montage Of Heck'
Noel Gallagher offered a lifetime supply of Tennent's lager
Likeness between 'Stay With Me' and Tom Petty song is 'coincidence', says Sam...
Mark Kozelek says new Sun Kil Moon album could be released this year
Fall Out Boy wrote songs for One Direction that were 'too odd' to be used

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM