Radiohead, Robert Plant lead Nationwide Mercury Prize shortlist

Plus Alex Turner scores nomination hat-trick with 2008 nod

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Radiohead

The shortlist for the Nationwide Mercury Prize has been announced today (July 22).

The 12 nominees for the 2008 award were confirmed at a small ceremony held at Covent Garden in London this morning.

Radiohead and Led Zepplin frontman Robert Plant were the biggest names on the list - the Oxford band were nominated for 'In Rainbows', while Plant picked up the nod for his collaboration with Alison Krauss, 'Raising Sand'.

Alex Turner made it three Mercury nominations on the trot as his The Last Shadow Puppets collaboration with The Rascals' Miles Kane followed the first two Arctic Monkeys albums in 2006 and 2007 to win a place on the 2008 shortlist.

As widely anticipated anonymous dubstep producer Burial was nominated for 'Untrue', while Elbow, Estelle and Adele were also among the 12.

Some of this year's biggest selling British albums were notable by their absence, with no place for either Duffy or Coldplay on the shortlist, as the panel gave nods to the likes of Laura Marling, Neon Neon and British Sea Power.

Rachel Unthank And The Winterset bagged the folk spot with 'The Bairns', while jazz act Portico Quartet were nominated for 'Knee-Deep In The North Sea'.

The 2008 Nationwide Mercury Prize shortlist is:

Adele - '19'
British Sea Power - 'Do You Like Rock Music?'
Burial - 'Untrue'
Elbow - 'The Seldom Seen Kid'
Estelle - 'Shine'
The Last Shadow Puppets - 'The Age Of The Understatement'
Laura Marling - 'Alas I Cannot Swim'
Neon Neon - 'Stainless Style'
Portico Quartet - 'Knee-Deep In The North Sea'
Robert Plant And Alison Krauss – 'Raising Sand'
Radiohead - 'In Rainbows'
Rachel Unthank And The Winterset – 'The Bairns'

The winners will be announced at the ceremony in London on September 9.

You can now read NME.COM's reaction to the Nationwide Mercury Music Prize nominations - and have your say on the who the judges left out - over on the NME Office Blog.

Read More On This Artist

More News
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen
Former member of Tatu says she would 'condemn a gay son' in homophobic TV interview
Manchester orchestra covers Oasis, Sex Pistols and The Smiths – listen
Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson duet to feature on new Queen album 'Queen Forever'
Paul Weller backs campaign to save Guildford venue The Boileroom
Prince reveals new song 'FUNKNROLL' – listen
Guided By Voices announce split and end 'comeback run' with immediate effect
Gwar replace late frontman Oderus Urungus with new singer Vulvatron
Eminem and Sia unveil lyric video for new track 'Guts Over Fear' – watch
Musicians react as Scottish voters reject independence in historic referendum
Laura Jane Grace tweets about 'shitbag' ex-Against Me drummer rumoured to have joined...

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today