Loon London skunk rockers debut album is a message to extra terrestial life-forms...

Regular Fries, stars of the NME Premier Awards shows in January, release their debut album, 'Accept The Signal', on June 7 through JBO Records.

The 12-track album was produced by the Fries themselves and features mixes by Mercury Rev's Jonathan Donahue, Death In Vegas' Tim Holmes and scratching from The Scratch Perverts' 1st Rate.

Band keyboardist Will Beaven told NME: "The album title comes from a fascination with the extra terrestrial.

"When Apollo 11 was sent up to the moon they had a plaque on it with human forms - it was sent out as a message to alien life. The same plaque is on the inside sleeve. The album is really a time capsule to whoever's out there." (actually, what he means is the plaque that was put on the Voyager probes which were sent out of the solar system - NASA-stooge Ed)

'Accept The Signal' is preceded by a single, 'King Kong', described by the band as "a psychedelic simian moonstomp", released on May 24.

Available on two CDs and a 12", 'King Kong' features remixes by Kid Loco and Add N To (X).

The single will be accompanied by an extremely limited 7" containing the Mercury Rev mix of album track 'Anno Domini' and last year's Ellis Island Sound remix of 'Cyanide'.

Regular Fries will play this year's Glastonbury Festival (June 25-27) and the Homelands dance festival (May 29-30) at the Matterley Bowl in Winchester.

The band will be touring in May and June. Details will be announced over the next few weeks.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today