January 22, 2009 11:29

Sonic Youth reveal new album song names

Band reach mixing stage with 'The Eternal'

Sonic Youth reveal new album song names
Sonic Youth have reached the mixing stage of their forthcoming album, tentatively titled 'The Eternal'.

The band have also revealed the names of songs destined for the album.

The indie veterans are mixing the album with producer John Agnello (Patti Smith, Aerosmith, Dinosaur Jr), revealing on Twitter.com/thesonicyouth that working titles for songs include 'Calming The Snake', 'Sacred Trickster', 'Massage The History', 'That's What We Know' and "something about a Malibu gas station".

Former Pavement guitarist Mark Ibold plays guitar on 'That's What We Know'.

Sonic Youth plan to release the new album, the follow-up to 2006's 'Rather Ripped', in June.

Twitter users can also follow NME updates at Twitter.com/nmemagazine.

Read More On This Artist

Sonic Youth Merchandise
More News
Everything Everything share picture from studio as they begin recording new album
TV On The Radio reveal new song 'Happy Idiot' – listen
Julian Casablancas + The Voidz confirm 'Tyranny' album details
HMV chairman says it is 'a matter of time' before they are Britain's biggest...
DFA Records deny reports New Order are working with James Murphy
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more
Arcade Fire cover Wolf Parade during final, homecoming Reflektor tour show – watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today