Radiohead, Pearl Jam, Beastie Boys pick songs on Sonic Youth collection

Former rarity 'Hits Are For Squares' will get a general release on October 31

Radiohead, Pearl Jam, Beastie Boys pick songs on Sonic Youth collection
Radiohead, Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam and Mike D of Beastie Boys are among the musicians and celebrity fans to have picked songs for inclusion on a Sonic Youth 'best of' collection.

Entitled 'Hits Are For Squares', the album – which received a limited release on Starbucks Music in 2008 – will get a full release through Universal on October 31. The album features a host of actors, musicians, directors and artists who have chosen Sonic Youth songs for the album, including Beck, actress Portia De Rossi, screenwriter Diablo Cody, author Dave Eggers, actress Michelle Williams, director Gus Van Sant, actress Chloe Sevigny, and The Flaming Lips.

The documentary '1991: The Year Punk Broke' will also be available on October 31 for the first time on DVD. Featuring Sonic Youth, Nirvana, the Ramones, Dinosaur Jr and Babes In Toyland, the film contains live Sonic Youth footage as well as behind the scenes reportage. Scroll down to watch the trailer.

The DVD comes with 65 minutes of bonus material, including the previously unreleased film '(This Is Known As) The Blues Scale, which features a performance by Nirvana of In Bloom. The DVD also hosts Broken Punk, a 2003 panel discussion with Thurston Moore, Steve Shelley and Lee Ranaldo, Dinosaur Jr’s J. Mascis and the 1991: The Year Punk Broke filmmaker Dave Markey.

The Hits Are For Squares tracklisting is:

'Bull In The Heather' (selected by Catherine Keener)
'100%' (selected by Mike D)
'Sugar Kane' (selected by Beck)
'Kool Thing' (selected by Radiohead)
'Disappearer' (selected by Portia de Rossi)
'Superstar' (selected by Diablo Cody)
'Stones' (selected by Allison Anders)
'Tuff Gnarl' (selected by Dave Eggers and Mike Watt)
'Teenage Riot' (selected by Eddie Vedder)
'Shadow Of A Doubt' (selected by Michelle Williams)
'Rain On Tin' (selected by Flea)
'Tom Violence (selected by Gus Van Sant)
'Mary-Christ' (selected by David Cross)
'The World Looks Red' (selected by Chloe Sevigny)
'Expressway To Yr Skull' (selected by The Flaming Lips)
'Slow Revolution' (new track)

Watch the trailer for 1991: The Year Punk Broke below:

Read More On This Artist

Sonic Youth Merchandise
More News
Lucy Rose announces UK tour and promises to play new material
Sleaford Mods' Jason Williamson: 'Bono's such a massive cunt'
Future Islands' Samuel T Herring feared he 'was going to die' earlier this year
Madonna calls new album leak 'a form of terrorism'
New Official Chart Show host Clara Amfo is 'surprised at how nice everyone's been'
Wiley reschedules tour following unrelated shooting outside London venue
Wu-Tang's RZA: 'I used to do rap battles on the spot where Eric Garner was killed'
Pond unveil new video for track 'Sitting Up on Our Crane' - watch
The 1975 named as the hardest-working band this year with 195 shows in 29 countries
Muse update fans on new album as they record with orchestra in Milan – watch
Apple did not intentionally delete music from users' iPods, jury finds
Scott Stapp alleges that 'the heart of ISIS is in my own family' in uncovered 911 calls...
Florence & The Machine and Alt-J added to Flow Festival line-up
AC/DC sell out Wembley Stadium gig in 60 minutes
Laura Marling announces new album 'Short Movie' – hear first song now
D'Angelo team confirm release of new album was brought forward following Ferguson protests
St Vincent reveals 'Birth In Reverse' video and says she has recorded songs with Carrie...
Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars perform 'Uptown Funk' on finale of 'The Voice US'...
Kendrick Lamar premieres brand new song on 'The Colbert Report' – watch
The Decemberists share new song 'The Wrong Year' - listen
Records by Sex Pistols, Chic, Neil Young, Lou Reed added to Grammy Hall of Fame
Former BBC Radio 1 DJ Chris Denning sentenced to 13 years for sexual abuse

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM