Spinal Tap reveal new album details

'Back From The Dead' will be released in June

Spinal Tap reveal new album details
Spinal Tap have revealed details of a forthcoming new album, set for release next month.

The spoof metal band, stars of the 1984 "rockumentary" 'This Is Spinal Tap', will release 'Back From The Dead' on June 15.

Guests on the album include Def Leppard's Phil Collen, John Mayer, guitarist Steve Vai and keyboardist Keith Emerson.

It will be accompanied by an hour-long DVD featuring insights from the band members about the songs.

The album will contain 19 tracks, including new versions of 'Hell Hole' and 'Big Bottom', which appeared on the 1984 flick's original soundtrack, reports Billboard.

Also set for inclusion are 'Jazz Odyssey', a three-part song, and a reggae version of '(Listen the) Flower People', which also appeared on the original soundtrack.

Newer songs 'Warmer Than Hell', 'Celtic Blues', 'Rock'N'Roll Nightmare' and 'Saucy Jack' will also feature.

Bassist Derek Smalls, aka actor Harry Shearer, revealed that there were plans to release further new material.

He said that there were: "about four or five new songs that weren't completed in time to make this record, so we'll do something digital with them on the download side or something like that".

Spinal Tap celebrate the 25th anniversary of 'This Is Spinal Tap' by playing London's Wembley Arena on June 30.

To check the availability of Spinal Tap tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/GIGS now, or call 0871 230 1094.

Read More On This Artist

Spinal Tap Merchandise
More News
16 people hospitalised after drug overdoses at Skrillex concert
Run The Jewels release second album early online for free
Coldplay, Ed Sheeran, One Direction & more to play inaugural BBC Music Awards
Death Cab For Cutie say their new album will 'win back' fans
The Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne discusses Kesha's Dr Luke abuse claims
U2 say their free album was 'a bottle of milk in people's fridge that they weren't...
New York festival CMJ hit by Ebola scare
Foo Fighters preview Washington DC episode of 'Sonic Highways' - watch
Cold War Kids push new album release to March 2015
Chvrches share anime inspired 'Under The Tide' video - watch
Neil Young set for first ever art exhibition in California
Taylor Swift unveils '1989' tracklisting
50 Cent, Sufjan Stevens and Salt-N-Pepa join line-up for LGBT benefit concert in New York
Family of murdered teenager Alice Gross request donations be made to Youth Music charity
Professor Green to play in soundproof glass cube at shopping centre
Pussy Riot's Nadya Tolokonnikova and Masha Alekhina to visit UK Parliament
Rapper ILoveMakkonnen attacked by audience member during a performance in New York - watch
The UK's 'smallest vinyl record shop' opens in a garden in Peterborough
FKA Twigs announces biggest UK headline show to date
Nicki Minaj falls asleep four times while being asked about her bum
Noel Gallagher reveals 'In The Heat Of The Moment' video – watch
Will Butler of Arcade Fire scores new documentary about Barack Obama impersonator

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM