March 29, 2010 9:54

Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys releasing album with TV repair man

Rhys has collaborated with Brazilian TV Tony Da Gatorra

Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys releasing album with TV repair man
Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys is set to release a collaboration album with Brazilian TV repair man Tony Da Gatorra.

The album will be named 'The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness' and will get a limited release this July. The pair will also play UK live dates this summer.

Da Gatorra, with whom Rhys has played live with before, has invented the Gatorra instrument – a guitar-style instrument that also features a synthesiser and a drum machine.

The pair will play live at Cardiff's Clwb Ifor Bach venue on July 29, at Camp Bestival on July 30 and London's Field Day on July 31.

Speaking of the build-up to a gig the duo played in Sao Paulo, Rhys said: "We spent five days rehearsing a set of songs to play live at the venue – our only shared language was music itself so there was no small talk, just intense concentration on the music.

"On the final day, as the rehearsals had been so productive, we hooked up some recording equipment and took about five hours out to make this record. We recorded several live takes of each song then chose the best versions. I added a harmony vocal overdub on two songs, otherwise it’s pretty much what we recorded at the time.

"Upon returning to Cardiff I took the songs to producer Kris Jenkins' studio whose excitement for the album and general encouragement was infectious. Armed with five flasks of strong coffee, 75 sticks of gum and a bank of vintage compressors we mixed 'The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness' at extremely loud volume in one epic 12-hour session."

To check the availability of Gruff Rhys tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.

Read More On This Artist

Super Furry Animals Merchandise
More News
Run The Jewels reveal 'RTJ2' album tracklist and artwork
Faith No More readying first new album in 18 years
Chvrches announce Mansionair as next release on their Goodbye Records label
Project to combat sexual harassment at gigs launches UK-wide campaign
Billy Corgan says Smashing Pumpkins may split after forthcoming 2015 albums
Sleater-Kinney to release career-spanning vinyl boxset 'Start Together' in October
Fat White Family unveil new track 'I Am Mark E Smith' – listen
Royal Blood say they're 'still scratching our heads' over Number One album
Foals to return to Glastonbury to play Pilton Party bash
The Coral confirm details of 'lost' album 'The Curse Of Love'
Interpol admit they haven't been in contact with former bassist Carlos D since his departure
Radiohead drummer Phil Selway says 'now feels right' time to start recording new album
‘Baywatch’ theme tune singer Jimi Jamison dies, aged 63
Apple and FBI to investigate reports iCloud hack was behind nude photo leaks
Elbow announce London and Manchester ‘theatre’ shows for 2015
Kanye West previews new song 'Awesome' in 'Keeping Up With The Kardashians'...
CeeLo Green deletes Twitter account following rape comments
Jessie Ware reveals new song 'Want Your Feeling' – listen
O2 Priority Tickets available for Elbow, Maroon 5 and Bombay Bicycle Club
Everything Everything share picture from studio as they begin recording new album
TV On The Radio reveal new song 'Happy Idiot' – listen
Julian Casablancas + The Voidz confirm 'Tyranny' album details

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today