Super Furry Animals' Cian Ciaran to release new album in August

Keyboardist follows Gruff Rhys in releasing a laidback solo effort

Super Furry Animals will broadcast a live playback of their forthcoming new album, 'Dark Nights/Light Years' at 8pm(GMT) on the day of its digital release (March 16). The show will be available to watch at MySpace.com/superfurry. The album will be released physically on April 13. It was recorded in Cardiff with 'Guerrilla' producer Chris Shaw and features guest vocals from Franz Ferdinand's Nick McCarthy on 'Inaugral Trams'.
Super Furry Animals keyboard player Cian Ciaran has announced that he will be releasing a new solo album in August.

Ciaran, who is a founding member of the Welsh psychedelic rockers, will release an album titled 'Outside In' on August 6. You can hear the album's first single, which is titled 'You & Me', by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking.

The album has been written entirely on piano and also features contributions from fellow Super Furry Animals members Dafydd Ieuan and Guto Pryce.

Speaking about the album, Ciaran said: "I'm not a poet and I'm definitely not a preacher. These songs are meant to be ambiguous enough so it allows people to think for themselves about all kinds of relationships, be it with their family, neighbours, our planet or their football team."

Ciaran has previously recorded under the name of Acid Casuals and Paps, both of which are far more dance-orientated projects.

Gruff Rhys - 'Honey All Over' Music Video
Video: Gruff Rhys - 'Honey All Over' Music Video

Share This

Connect With Us
This Week's Magazine