March 28, 1999 14:36


In an exclusive interview - [a]Supergrass[/a] reveal the secrets of their new album...

Supergrass have revealed details of their new album, out September 13 on Parlophone, exclusively to NME - though they still can't decide what to call it.

The band, who played a special preview set of new material to NME at a London rehearsal studio last week, said possible titles included 'Right Up Your Alley', 'Slap The Monkey', 'Musn't Grumble', 'A Bit Of Rough' and 'Out On The Blue'.

Danny Goffey said that their management were even offering them '1000 to name it now, but he said the final decision would be made "in desperation" a week before its release!

As for the album itself, lead singer Gaz Coombs said it displayed a more broad Supergrass repertoire: "It's a lot more groovy, then other tracks are laid back. It's more vocal than the last album too, lots of harmonies. Then there's less guitar solos, but more ridiculous guitars. We've just gone a bit wider!"

The band also confirmed their next single would be 'Moving'. Sounding reminiscent of "Supergrass meeting The Love Unlimited Orchestra" it's a mellow lush affair with some strings, but with a funky, disco-tinged beat. It's being released in August. The first track from the album 'Pumping On Your Stereo' is out on May 24.

The band will be debuting four of their new tracks in public on April 28 on Lamacq Live show, three in session and one played live on the show.

The band then play Leeds Town & Country Club (May 11), Glasgow Barrowlands (12), London Shepherd's Bush Empire (12) and V99 (August 21&22), as previously announced.

A full UK tour is being organised for September, details to be announced shortly.

Though the final running order and titles are still to be finalised, the album definitely include 'Pumping', 'Moving' and 'Jesus Came From Outer Space', a Spencer Davies-style keyboard driven groove with sugary harmonies and guitars, underpinned with chunky percussion which is also tipped to be a single release.

Other tracks include 'Far Away', 'Blockheads', 'Out Of The Blue', 'What Went Wrong With Your Head', 'Born Again' and 'Mama And Papa', which sees Mickey Quinn singing lead vocals for the first time. A bittersweet mellow song, it's main lyrical motif is 'Walk in the park/It's getting dark/And I don't want to be alone/I miss my mummy and I miss my daddy/Will you please bring them back home?'

Another track, which they quip has the working title 'Open Up Your Tight Arse' is a deliciously funky affair featuring Gaz on bass, Danny on guitar and Mick on drums. Other working titles include 'Country Song', 'People', 'End' and 'Mary', a soulful Seventies-sounding singalong.

All songs were written equally by the band, with Rob Coombs, on keyboards.

Supergrass' last release was 'We Still Need More' - a track which never appeared in the UK - but you can see the video by clicking here[/url]

Read More On This Artist


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today