Hear The Big Pink's new album 'Future This' exclusively on NME.COM – audio

The band return with a follow-up to their 2009 debut

Photo: Danny North Next Previous

Photo Gallery: The Big Pink
Photo: Danny North

You can stream The Big Pink's new album 'Future This' exclusively on NME.COM now by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking on the player.

The ten-track album, which will be released next Monday (January 16), opens with single 'Stay Gold', as well as featuring the track 'Hit The Ground (Superman)', which samples Laurie Anderson's classic 1981 art-pop and performance piece 'O Superman'. You can watch the video for that song at the bottom of the page. 'Future This' is the follow-up to the band's 2009 debut 'A Brief History Of Love'.

The record, which is named in honour of a 1980's skateboard advert slogan that frontman Milo Cordell saw as a child, was produced by Paul Epworth (Adele, Florence And The Machine, Plan B), and was inspired by hip-hop and electronic music producers that the duo admire.

Speaking in January of last year, Cordell told NME that the band were determined to take a new hip-hop direction, stating:

A lot of white, middle class bands say, 'We're going to make a hip-hop record', but we're actually going to do it.

The Big Pink will play an eight-date tour the UK in February, kicking off in Bristol at the Thekla on February 8 and finishing up on February 18, when the band headline Brighton's Digital venue. Tickets are on sale now.

To check the availability of The Big Pink tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.

The tracklisting for 'Future This' is as follows:

'Stay Gold'
'Hit The Ground (Superman)'
'Give It Up'
'The Palace'
'Jump Music'
'Lose Your Mind'
'Future This'

Pre-order the album

Video: The Big Pink - 'Hit The Ground (Superman)'

More News
The Script score third Official Albums Chart Number 1 with 'No Sound Without Silence'
Jake Bugg: 'Manufactured pop bands don't have any soul'
Lauryn Hill's London comeback show subject to harsh Twitter criticism
Tatu's Lena Katina responds to bandmate's homophobia: 'People should be free to...
Producer Tony Visconti says he was misquoted over 'new David Bowie album' comment
La Roux: 'I've never made any money from record sales'
Kendrick Lamar downplays guest appearances on new album
Jamie T: 'Damon Albarn told me to write from the heart'
Stevie Nicks unveils title track from '24 Karat Gold: Songs From The Vault' - listen
Kanye West shares photos from his community service fashion class
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today