March 16, 2001 16:04

JACKSON FIVE COURT BATTLE?

Apparently, the domain name www.jackson5.com bears a resemblance to the name of one of Motown's biggest acts. Dunno which...

JACKSON FIVE COURT BATTLE?

MOTOWN RECORDS have launched a lawsuit against a company they claim are infringing copyright by using the domain name jackson5.com.

Filed on Tuesday (March 13) in US District Court Of The Central District Of California, the complaint alleges that the name breaks anti-cybersquatting acts. www.Billboard.com reports that there are a number of defendants in the action - the Creston Group, Midland Group, AfricaWatch.net, Dolapo Asiru, AIM Internet Services, and Alexander G Cardonell.

Motown, according to court documents, licensed the Jackson 5 trademark in 1973. They are seeking a number of preliminary and permanent injunctions, legal fees and undetermined damages.

Read more

Visit NME Video for the latest music videos and artist interviews

Comments

Comments do not always reflect the views of NME, or IPC Media, for guidelines visit our Ts & Cs page

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets
NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Twitter
Inside NME.COM
 
New Issue Out Now
Newsletter

Free weekly music news, videos and MP3s in your inbox

On NME.COM Today