February 14, 2005 14:51


The band also play a cover of a Ramones classic…

The Ordinary Boys debuted four new songs last night (February 13) during their headlining SHOCKWAVES NME AWARDS 2005 show, as well as a cover of a Ramones classic.

The band gave fans a treat with the new songs ’Thanks To The Girl’, ’Brass Bound’, ’Life Will Be The Death Of Me’ and ’Boys Will Be Boys’, before opening up their encore with the punk legends’ ’The KKK Took My Baby Away’.

The gig also marked the group’s first gig with new drummer Simon Goldring, following the departure last year of founding member Charlie Stanley.

Set to be their new single, ’Boys Will Be Boys’ also featured a guest slot from Ranking Junior, son of Ranking Roger from The Beat.

Although exact release details are to be confirmed, the single is expected out in May.

The Others caused a mini-riot earlier in the evening as fans crowd-surfed en masse desperate to get closer to the band.

Pet Shop Boys’ Neil Tennant was spotted in the crowd watching the show.

The Ordinary Boys' full set list ran:

‘Week In / Week Out’

‘Nip It In The Bud’

‘The List Goes On’

‘Thanks To The Girl’

‘Maybe Someday’

‘Little Bubble’

‘Brass Bound’

‘Weekend Revolution’

‘In Awe Of The Awful’

‘Life Will Be The Death Of Me’

‘Over The Counterculture’

‘Boys Will Be Boys’

‘Little Bitch’

‘Talk, Talk, Talk’

‘The KKK Took My Baby Away’


The ShockWaves NME Awards Shows 2005 continue tonight (February 14) at the London Astoria with LCD Soundsystem, Soulwax, The Go! Team and Juliette Lewis and The Licks.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Liam Gallagher tweets Oasis message
Pet Shop Boys to debut new music based on the life of Alan Turing at BBC Proms
Biffy Clyro, Chvrches, Mogwai longlisted for Scottish Album of the Year Award
Portishead's Beth Gibbons covers Black Sabbath as 'Black Sabbeth' - listen
Metallica "deep into the songwriting" of new album
The Black Keys: 'There’s probably people that just want us to fuck it all up'
Slayer reveal first new song since death of guitarist Jeff Hanneman – listen
Beyonce, Miley Cyrus and Pharrell feature on Time magazine's 'Most Influential' list
Paul Weller performs inside giant kaleidoscope for 'Brand New Toy' video – watch
RZA gives Raekwon 30 days to re-join Wu-Tang Clan or else new album may not be released
Morrissey calls on people of Canada to 'speak up and stop the carnage' of seal hunts
Nas working on new album with Timbaland
Kaiser Chiefs join Ibiza and Mallorca Rocks line-up
Arctic Monkeys, Disclosure and Palma Violets nominated for Ivor Novello Awards
Future and Pusha T perform together on US television – watch
Australian production company accuse One Direction of stealing video idea – watch
The Horrors cover Frankie Knuckles' 'Your Love' – listen
Fleet Foxes' Robin Pecknold 'working on new songs'
The Kooks announce new album 'Listen'
Canada's fisheries minister accuses Morrissey of being 'brainwashed'
Avril Lavigne responds to criticisms over new video: 'Racist??? LOLOLOL!!! I love Japanese...
Deadmaus says 'dafuqs yer problem' Arcade Fire, after 'real instruments' jibe

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
New Issue Out Now
On NME.COM Today