The Polyphonic Spree reveal all about new album

'The Fragile Away' will surface in June

The Polyphonic Spree reveal all about new album
Over a year after revealing the title of their third album, Texan pop-collective The Polyphonic Spree have confirmed a tracklisting, a new label and an approximate release date for ‘The Fragile Army’.

Mainman Tim DeLaughter and his compatriots will return decked out in black combat wear during June with the follow-up to 2004’s ‘Together We’re Heavy’.

It was recorded in several locations across the US, including Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studios in Chicago.

“We have entered a new phase in our musical contribution," explained the band’s songwriters and frontpeople Tim DeLaughter and Julie Doyle in a statement. "This recording was extremely challenging for us, trying to create a piece of art while weathering the storm of our collective relationship as humans in a political climate that's choking us all. When we listen back it feels like a diary more than anything else. It's painful and beautiful all at once, kinda like life."

The twelve tracks confirmed for the album are:

Section 21 [‘Together We're Heavy’]
Section 22 [‘Running Away’]
Section 23 [‘Get Up And Go’]
Section 24 [‘The Fragile Army’]
Section 25 [‘Younger Yesterday’]
Section 26 [‘We Crawl’]
Section 27 [‘Oh I Feel Fine’]
Section 28 [‘Guaranteed Nightlite’]
Section 29 [‘Light To Follow’]
Section 30 [‘Watch Us Explode (Justify)’]
Section 31 [‘Overblow Your Nest’]
Section 32 [‘The Championship’]

The group are also scheduled to play three shows in one day at SXSW in Austin on Saturday (March 17).

--By our New York staff.
[url="/history"]Find out more about NME.[/url]

Read More On This Artist

More News
Chris Robinson on The Black Crowes' split: 'It's more complicated than Rich's...
Blink-182 confirm split from 'disrespectful and ungrateful' Tom DeLonge
Stereophonics, Van Morrison, Paul Weller, The Who, Noel Gallagher to headline Teenage Cancer Trust
Babes In Toyland announce May 2015 UK reunion tour
Tom DeLonge denies leaving Blink-182
The Prodigy share 'The Day Is My Enemy' title track - listen
Catfish And The Bottlemen cover The Killers' 'Read My Mind' - watch
London's 12 Bar Club re-opened by squatters
All We Are stream debut album online
Ariel Pink unveils 'Dayzed Inn Daydreams' video – watch
Muse confirm new album title 'Drones' in latest in-the-studio video
Noel Gallagher, Florence And The Machine and The Prodigy to play Benicàssim 2015
Coldplay, Ed Sheeran, Mark Ronson to headline disability-friendly gigs
Dave Grohl won't appear in Kurt Cobain documentary 'Cobain: Montage Of Heck'
Noel Gallagher offered a lifetime supply of Tennent's lager
Likeness between 'Stay With Me' and Tom Petty song is 'coincidence', says Sam...
Mark Kozelek says new Sun Kil Moon album could be released this year
Fall Out Boy wrote songs for One Direction that were 'too odd' to be used
Howard Marks to perform at London’s Forum with Rhys Ifans and Super Furry Animals
Death Cab For Cutie stream new song 'Black Sun' – listen
Demis Roussos, solo singer and Aphrodite's Child frontman, dies aged 68
Beck to release new album before summer according to Norway's Oya Festival

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM