August 3, 2011 20:17

The Shins to release new album in 2012

Band undergo line-up change for upcoming tour

The Shins to release new album in 2012

Photo: Sebastian Artz/NME

The Shins have announced that, as well as a small US tour later in the year, they will soon be releasing their first album since 2007's 'Wincing The Night Away'.

Offering information about the upcoming dates on their official website, the word is:

The setlist will likely feature material from the long-awaited fourth Shins album, which James Mercer will complete following the tour.

The site also reveals that the album will be released via Columbia and Aural Apothecary, the latter being James Mercer's own record label. The band left Sub Pop in 2008.

For the eight-date US tour (see below), Mercer will play alongside Richard Swift, Jessica Dobson, Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse) and Yuuki Matthews (Crystal Skulls).

The tour dates are as follows:

Eugene, OR, WOW Hall (August 8)
Bend, OR, The Domino Room (August 9)
Portland, OR, The Doug Fir Lounge (August 10)
San Francisco, CA, Outside Lands Festival (August 12)
Toronto, Ontario, Phoenix Concert Theatre (September 22)
Philadelphia, PA, Popped! Festival (September 23)
Boston, MA, Paradise Rock Club (September 24)
Pensacola, FL, DeLuna Festival (October 15)

In 2009, James Mercer joined up with Danger Mouse to form the band Broken Bells. After releasing their debut self-titled album in 2010, they released a follow-up EP 'Meyrin Fields' earlier this year.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Bat For Lashes unveils new song 'Skin Song' - listen
Manic Street Preachers' Nicky Wire: ''Futurology' is one of our most...
The Vines share video for new single 'Metal Zone' - watch
Azealia Banks reportedly 'free' from Interscope recording contract
Zach Braff discusses Coldplay and Bon Iver-featuring soundtrack to new movie Wish I Was Here
Limp Bizkit at Glastonbury? 'I doubt we'll ever be invited'
Mick Jagger laughs off claims he is to blame from Brazil's 7-1 World Cup defeat
Robin Thicke album 'sells less than 54 copies' in Australia, according to reports
Poll result: NME readers do not want to see pyrotechnic flares banned from music festivals
T In The Park weather update: Warm and sunny to begin with before longer spells of rain
Sinead O'Connor replaces Bobby Womack as Womad headliner
Kasabian's Serge Pizzorno teams up with Noel Fielding for second series of 'Luxury...
Nick Cave to perform live at Barbican screening of '20,000 Days On Earth' documentary
Sonisphere organisers 'shocked' by festival attack which left 21-year-old male...
Green Day bassist Mike Dirnt to produce indie film
N-Dubz confirm plans for 2015 reunion and vow to 'come back like Black Eyed Peas'
Courtney Love lists sex as her 'favourite obsession'
Ellie Goulding breaks up crowd fight at Eden Project gig
Sum 41's Deryck Whibley says Iggy Pop is supporting his recovery from alcohol addiction
Burzum's Varg Vikernes found guilty of inciting racial hatred
Bruce Springsteen debuts short film for 'Hunter Of Invisible Game' – watch
Justin Bieber sentenced to anger management and community service for egging neighbour's house

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today