Four tracks on Iggy's new album feature contributions from Ron and Scott Asheton...

Iggy Pop has recorded with original Iggy And The Stooges bandmates RON and SCOTT ASHETON for four songs on his latest album, 'SKULL RING', due for release on September 30.

The tracks mark the first time that the band have written new songs together for 30 years. Album opener 'Little Electric Chair' joins 'Skull Rings', 'Loser' and 'Dead Rock Star', all of which were written and recorded by the Iggy And The Stooges at Miami's Hit Factory Criteria Studios.

The album will also feature Iggy Pop's collaborations with Green Day on 'Private Hell' and 'Supermarket', and as previously reported on NME.COM, 'Little Know It All' with Peaches and 'Motor Inn' featuring Iggy Pop.

The other six songs feature Iggy Pop's band The Trolls and a solo acoustic number performed by the singer called 'Til Wrong Feels Right', based on an old blues tune by Mississippi Fred McDowell.

The release of 'Skull Ring' follows the first show by Iggy And The Stooges and Sonic Youth in more than 25 years at California's Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival on April 27. The group will play two more summer shows at Wantagh, New York's Jones Beach Amphitheater on August 9 and a Detroit homecoming gig at the Clarkston DTE Energy Music Theater on August 14, with support from Iggy Pop. Iggy And The Stooges and The Trolls will our Europe later this year.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Young Fathers stream new album 'White Men Are Black Men Too' - listen
Blur include records by Ellie Goulding, Radiohead, Bowie, Nick Drake in favourite albums list
Circa Waves cover Ellie Goulding's 'Love Me Like You Do' - watch
Run The Jewels share 'clean version' of 'Run The Jewels 2' album
Led Zeppelin share interactive video for alternate version of 'Trampled Under Foot'
Glasgow's Arches venue set to close following police raid
Ringo Starr says he originally wrote new album 'Postcards From Paradise' on drums alone...
Azealia Banks becomes Medusa in 'Ice Princess' video – watch
The Maccabees share new single 'Marks To Prove It' - listen
Everything Everything, James Bay and Catfish And The Bottlemen added to Festival Number 6 line-up
The Vaccines to release new video tomorrow (April 1)
Paramore's Hayley Williams unveils first episode of beauty and music web series 'Kiss...
Wilco cancel show in Indiana due to US State's controversial Religious Freedom Restoration Act
Smashing Pumpkins and Marilyn Manson announce co-headline tour
Drenge say Record Store Day has 'turned into a swamp of bullshit'
Future Islands record new music at Abbey Road and play new songs live - watch
The Libertines tell fans to 'expect album announcement soon' in latest update from...
Mac DeMarco performs 'Let Her Go' live on 'Conan' - watch
Universal call Record Store Day 'the single best thing that has ever happened to the indie...
Justin Bieber working on new album with Kanye West and Rick Rubin
Naughty Boy on Louis Tomlinson beef: 'No one is against anyone here'
The Rolling Stones announce North American tour for 2015

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM