The Strokes' Julian Casablancas to release solo album - exclusive

Singer set to release 'Phrazes For The Young' this autumn

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: The Strokes

The Strokes' frontman Julian Casablancas is to release a solo album, NME.COM can exclusively reveal.

The singer is currently finishing working on his first full record outside the band, with a release pencilled for the autumn. A trailer for the album can be watched below.

The record, called 'Phrazes For The Young', was recorded in Los Angeles, Nebraska and Casablancas' home city, New York.

The LP was produced by Jason Lader, with additional production from Bright Eyes' Mike Mogis.

Tracks slated for 'Phrazes For The Young' include 'River Of Brake Lights', 'Glass', and 'Ludlow St'.

Casablancas - who issued the illustration pictured - is set to play a "specials series" of US dates, ahead of a solo tour later in 2009.

For more information head to

Casablancas – who since the last album from The Strokes released 'My Drive Thru' with Santigold and Pharrell Williams and collaborated with Danger Mouse on the recent 'Dark Night Of The Soul' album – is the fourth Strokes star to release an album not connected with the band.

Casablancas' effort follows solo albums from Albert Hammond Jr and Nikolai Fraiture, along with drummer Fab Moretti's side project Little Joy.

Guitarist Nick Valensi, meanwhile, has undertaken a photography project.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Band Aid single 'Do They Know It's Christmas?' goes straight to Number One with...
Lily Allen reveals she turned down invitation to record 'smug' Band Aid 30 single
James Blake hints that Kanye West will appear on his next album
Bruno Mars and Mark Ronson perform 'Uptown Funk' on 'Saturday Night Live' -...
'Monty Python' song tops poll to discover Britain's most popular funeral songs
Emeli Sande criticises Band Aid 30 single lyrics: 'A whole new song is required'
Noel Gallagher: 'When I close my eyes I don't see Oasis reforming' - watch
New Libertines film documenting recent comeback to be released
Eminem releases free 66-track 'Shady Classics' mixtape - listen
Biffy Clyro tear through first London show in 18 months at Relentless Live
TV On The Radio perform 'Happy Idiot' on 'Letterman' – watch
US pear farmers pleased with Rick Ross endorsement
Jack White pays tribute to keyboardist Isaiah 'Ikey' Owens at London gig
Ghostface Killah releases new track 'Double Cross' – listen
Early version of The Velvet Underground's 'Sweet Jane' is released – listen
Angel Olsen unveils 'Windows' video – watch
Pete Doherty: 'For more than ten years I've been powerless, but there's a way...
Beyoncé dances around hotel room in new '7/11' video – watch
Sun Kil Moon unveils new nine-minute track 'The Possum' – listen
Action Bronson and Killer Mike rap battle on treadmills – watch
Skrillex unveils video for 'Fuck That' - watch
Blink-182's Tom DeLonge: 'Condoning streaming is like condoning killing elephants'

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM