The Strypes confirm details of debut album

Album will feature just three or four cover versions

The Strypes confirm details of debut album

Photo: Jenn Five/NME

Irish four-piece The Strypes have confirmed details of their debut album.

Speaking exclusively to NME, the band reveal that their album will be called 'Snapshot' and will be released in September. The album will contain 12 or 13 songs, of which only three or four will be covers.

The Strypes – tipped by Paul Weller, Miles Kane and more – have made a name for themselves as an accomplished live band, but are known for playing a live set comprising of many covers of blues standards. On writing their own material for 'Snapshot', bassist Pete O'Hanlon said: "The main thing was there had to be no difference between our songs and the standards we play… it has to be seamless."

New tracks written by the band include 'What A Shame', 'She's So Fine', 'Angel Eyes', 'I Can Tell' and 'What The People Don't See'.

The album, produced by Chris Thomas, was recorded in just 15 days in the studio – but that was double the time the band were hoping to spend on it. "You know like The Beatles did on 'Please Please Me? Well, maybe not in a day like they did, but we were going for a week," said drummer Evan Walsh.

Read the full interview with The Strypes in the new issue of NME, available digitally and on newsstands today (July 17)

Subscribe to NME here, or get this week's digital issue


Read More On This Artist

More News
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today