The Temper Trap start work on new album with Beck producer Tony Hoffer

Aussie band decamp to LA to lay down tracks for the follow-up to 'Conditions'

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: The Temper Trap

The Temper Trap have started recording sessions for their second album.

The band have teamed up with Beck producer Tony Hoffer in LA's Sound Factory studio for the follow-up to their 2009 album 'Conditions'. Ringo Starr, Brian Wilson, The Jackson 5 and the Red Hot Chili Peppers have all previously recorded in the studio.

The Temper Trap have written 19 songs for the new album including their most recent recording 'Trembling Hands', according to their Twitter page Other tracks the Aussie four-piece have been working on include 'Happiness', 'Never Again', 'The Sea' and 'I'm Gonna Wait'.

The Temper Trap have spent over nine months writing over 40 tracks for the record, which included a stint in Spain, before they whittled down the songs to be laid down in the studio.

They've also made their live keyboardist and guitarist Joseph Greer an official fifth member of the band.

The band said that they are hoping to hit the road for a series of live dates next March and hope to release their new record in June 2012.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Muse working with AC/DC producer on new studio album
Iggy Azalea teams with MØ for new single 'Beg For It' - listen
Thurston Moore criticises Twitter users who 'exist on scandal'
Everything Everything to complete new album in public during Manchester Library artist residency
Superfood stream debut album 'Don't Say That' – listen
Renowned music photographer David Redfern dies
Joanna Gruesome announce 2015 London residency
Green Day's Billie Joe Armstrong performs live with Joan Jett - watch
Kenny G denies meddling in foreign affairs after attending Hong Kong pro-democracy protest
Ozzy Osbourne urges original drummer Bill Ward to rejoin Black Sabbath for final album
Courtney Love claims she and Dave Grohl have a £6k bet about strippers
Martin Scorsese to produce The Grateful Dead's 50th anniversary documentary
Radio 1 to decide if they'll play 'UKIP Calypso' on Official Chart Show
Pink Floyd's Nick Mason compares Roger Waters to Stalin
Foo Fighters unveil second 'Sonic Highways' single - hear 'The Feast and The...
Noel Gallagher performs 'How Soon Is Now?' with Johnny Marr on stage in London – watch
16 people hospitalised after drug overdoses at Skrillex concert
Run The Jewels release second album early online for free
Coldplay, Ed Sheeran, One Direction & more to play inaugural BBC Music Awards
Death Cab For Cutie say their new album will 'win back' fans
The Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne discusses Kesha's Dr Luke abuse claims
U2 say their free album was 'a bottle of milk in people's fridge that they weren't...

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM