The Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser announces debut solo LP

'Black Hours' features members of Vampire Weekend and Fleet Foxes - it comes out in May

The Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser announces debut solo LP

Photo: Jenn Five/NME

Frontman of The Walkmen Hamilton Leithauser has announced plans for his debut solo LP.

'Black Hours' is set for release on May 5 and will feature guest appearances from Rostam Batmanglij of Vampire Weekend, Morgan Henderson of Fleet Foxes and Amber Coffman from Dirty Projectors. "We'd toured with Fleet Foxes and really hit it off with all of them. Morgan is the most natural and accomplished musician I've ever seen. Calling him was like shooting for the stars, but he agreed, and we just knew it would work out with this line up," says Leithauser of the Fleet Foxes man's appearance on the LP. Scroll down to watch the video for first single, 'Alexandra'.

The album, he says, was inspired by the work and sound of Frank Sinatra. "I'd been listening to 'The September of My Years' and 'In the Wee Small Hours' by Sinatra, and I realised this chord progression was actually quite dramatic. It seemed like it could maintain its odd structure, but get enormous with singing and instrumental dynamics. I have a very loud and booming voice and it was fun to put it unapologetically in front of everything. I just went for it."

The Walkmen are currently on "extreme hiatus". The band formed in 2000 and have released seven studio albums, including 2012's 'Heaven'. Emerging alongside The Strokes, Interpol and Yeah Yeahs as a raft of bands broke out of New York at the turn of the century, The Walkmen are perhaps best known for their song 'The Rat', which appeared on 2004 album 'Bows + Arrows'.

The 'Black Hours' tracklisting is:

'The Silent Orchestra'
'11 O' Clock Friday Night'
'St. Mary’s County'
'Black Hours'
'I Retired'
'I Don’t Need Anyone'
'Bless Your Heart'
'The Smallest Splinter'

Read More On This Artist

More News
Sly Stone awarded £3.3 million in unpaid royalties
Rage Against The Machine's Tim Commerford teams up with Lance Armstrong
Skrillex, Flying Lotus, FKA Twigs, Duran Duran added to Sónar festival bill
Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante to release acid house LP
Run The Jewels share 'Lie, Cheat, Steal' video - watch
Everything Everything: 'If you put out a record this year and it's all smiles, then...
Students launch petition to name east London University building after Wiley
Sinead O'Connor withdraws application to join Sinn Fein
Sleaford Mods back crowdfunded documentary 'about the band and state of modern Britain'
Björk on 'Vulnicura' album leak: 'There's no way to say how you'd...
Drenge on new album 'Undertow': 'One song just screams 'Fleetwood Mac'
Liam Howlett confident ahead of new Prodigy album: 'I've been feeling these new...
Taylor Swift tells hackers who claim to have nude pictures of her: 'you got nothing'
Noel Gallagher: 'new album is is full of songs that make you punch the air while crying'
Carl Barât says he 'needs therapy' now that his Libertines bandmate Pete Doherty is clean
The Cribs say new album is 'their poppiest record since 'Men's Needs, Women's...
Sam Smith responds after US DJ Howard Stern calls him a 'fat ugly motherfucker'
Tom DeLonge says Blink-182 'haven't talked in months'
Carl Barât & The Jackals announce one-off UK show
Blink-182's Mark Hoppus confirms conversations about replacing drummer Travis Barker did...
Faith No More announce release of new single 'Superhero'
L7 announce reunion and European gigs

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM