July 11, 2008 20:59

Tricky showcases five tracks from his new album at Oxegen

Rapper dogged by sound problems during set

Tricky showcases five tracks from his new album at Oxegen
Tricky showcased five tracks from his new album at the Oxegen Festival this evening (July 11).

The Bristol-born rapper made his return after a five-year absence for a performance that was dogged by sound problems.

The singer spent most of the first half of the show battling with a faulty microphone which made his vocals barely audible.

He then became so frustrated during 'Girls' that he threw his mic on the floor before asking his co-singer to step aside so he could take over vocal duties on her microphone.

Throughout his performance, Tricky dropped in a host of new tracks from his album 'Knowle West Boy', released earlier this week, including 'Puppy Toy', 'Past Mistake', 'Veronika', 'School Gates' and recent single 'Council Estate'.

He also played the early hit 'Pumpkin', taken from his debut album 'Maxinquaye'.

Finally hitting his stride towards the end of the set, the rapper closed the show with a storming rendition of 'Joseph'.

Tricky played:

'Love Cats'
'Puppy Toy'
'Council Estate'
'Past Mistake'
'Black Steel'
'Dear God'
'School Gates'

Keep up with all the action from T In The Park and Oxegen Festival this weekend (July 11-13) as it happens on NME.COM.

For news, pictures and blogs keep checking the NME.COM's T In The Park and Oxegen pages. Plus make sure you get next week's issue of NME - on UK newsstands from July 16 - for the ultimate T In The Park and Oxegen Festival review.

Read More On This Artist

More News
The Gaslight Anthem unveil modern dance inspired 'Get Hurt' video - watch
Ryan Adams debuts new track 'Stay With Me' live - watch
Lana Del Rey discusses 'Pepsi-Cola pussy' lyric: 'My mum didn't think it was...
The Orwells announce November UK tour
Grimes guests on track by Fun. guitarist Jack Antonoff's solo project Bleachers - listen
Silent album raises £12,000 in Spotify royalties
Bring Me The Horizon's Oli Sykes: 'I went to rehab for ketamine addiction'
Weezer perform new single 'Back To The Shack' on US TV – watch
Jessie Ware reveals new song 'Share It All', co-written by The xx's Romy...
Devon record shop goes up for sale on eBay for £9,000
'Weird' Al Yankovic says Prince is the only artist ever to turn down one of his parodies
Manic Street Preachers on new album: 'It's like 'Generation Terrorists' but...
Coolio to release new music exclusively through porn website
Lily Allen unveils Glastonbury tribute video for 'As Long As I Got You'
Snoop Dogg claims he smoked weed in the White House
Lancaster theatre appeals for stolen papier-mâché Frank Sidebottom head
Kid Rock ordered to hand glass sex toy over to court as part of Insane Clown Posse lawsuit
Courtney Love rules out Hole reunion:'I don't want to get on the oldies circuit'
Jack White brings fan on stage to perform 'Seven Nation Army' – watch
Eels frontman Mark Oliver Everett to be awarded Freedom of the City of London
The Who's Roger Daltrey and 'pals' to launch model railway museum in Kent
Lily Allen and Beyoncé producer claims guitar music is at an 'all time low'

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today