Alan McGee announces first three albums to be released on new label 359 Music

McGee has teamed up with Cherry Red Records for the new venture, 'a launch pad for new and ignored talent'

Alan McGee announces first three albums to be released on new label 359 Music

Photo: Tom Oxley/NME

Alan McGee has announced the first three albums to be released on his new label 359 Music.

The Creation Records and Poptones founder has joined forces with Cherry Red Records for the new venture, which was officially launched this May.

"We got lucky with our first batch of signings," McGee said in a post on the 359 Music website. "All three acts have balls and gravitas and, as I said when we started the label, we are a launch pad for new and ignored talent. It's also been a blast so far working with the acts and Cherry Red… onwards!"

The first ever album released on 359 Music will be 'North South Divide', the debut set from 15-year-old Doncaster singer-songwriter John Lennon McGullagh. The album, which was recorded in just one day at Pulp's old studio in Sheffield and produced by McGee himself, will be available from October 14.

Seven days later on October 21, 359 Music will release the debut album from former The Grants frontman Chris Grant, which is titled 'It's Not About War!'. McGee apparently discovered Grant via MySpace back in 2007. "Like me, Chris is a round peg in a square hole," McGee says. "I would have signed Chris but I didn't have a label [at the time]."

Then the following week on October 28, the debut album from electro-pop four-piece Mineral, 'Plastic Ekphrastic', will come out on 359 Music. The band members, who hail from Paris and Dublin, list a diverse range of influences including The Smiths, Grandmaster Flash, Dirty Projectors and Dionne Warwick.

When he launched 359 Music in May, McGee put out an open call to musicians looking to be signed by the label, saying: "If you are an artist and want to be considered for 359 Music send an mp3 to and I will personally listen." For more information visit

Creation Records was set up in 1983. Its roster included Oasis, Primal Scream, Teenage Fanclub, My Bloody Valentine, The Jesus and Mary Chain and Super Furry Animals. McGee sold half the label to Sony in 1992, before dissolving it fully in 1999 to form his own label Poptones, which signed The Hives. Poptones wound down in 2007, with McGee citing financial reasons.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Drake matches The Beatles' record of having 14 Billboard Hot 100 songs simultaneously
Iggy Azalea says she quit Twitter as it made her 'want to punch everyone in the face'
Tobias Jesso Jr performs 'How Could You Babe' on 'The Tonight Show' - watch
Frank Turner announces details of solo tour in support of 'The Road Beneath My Feet'
House DJ Lil Louis confirms he is deaf in one ear following Manchester CO2 cannon incident
Dave Grohl stops Foo Fighters gig to give drum stick to blind fan - watch
The Cribs, Peace and Everything Everything lead latest Liverpool Sound City additions
Noel Gallagher on Alt-J: 'One of them's got a moustache, and that's...
Chvrches troll manager with fake 'new material' - watch
ITV deny reports Kanye West 'refused to speak' to Jonathan Ross
Second tree planted in honour of George Harrison after beetles eat original
Action Bronson releases 'Actin Crazy' video – watch
Cold War Kids unveil new video for 'Hot Coals' – watch
Kid Rock is 'flabbergasted' by Beyoncé's popularity
Court rules that Courtney Love is not as famous as Marlon Brando
Skrillex and Diplo's 24-hour DJ set shut down by police
Damon Albarn reveals a new Blur song was inspired by 2014 Sydney hostage siege
Fearne Cotton announces decision to leave BBC Radio 1
Chris Evans to host 20th anniversary episode of 'TFI Friday'
Brandon Flowers: 'I couldn't make a record like Julian Casablancas. I'm too much...
Frank Turner backs James Blunt in debate over classism in music
Israeli man suspected of leaking Madonna's new album 'Rebel Heart' is formally...

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM