Babyshambles and Nine Inch Nails lead new album releases (September 2)

Plus; new albums from The 1975, The Strypes and Volcano Choir

Babyshambles and Nine Inch Nails lead new album releases (September 2)

Photo: Richard Johnson/NME

Babyshambles and Nine Inch Nails lead this week's new album releases (September 2) with The 1975 and Bon Iver's Volcano Choir also releasing new LPs.

Pete Doherty's Babyshambles return with their new album 'Sequel To The Prequel'. The album was recorded at Question Du Son in Paris and mixed at The Bunker in London with Stephen Street. It follows 2007's 'Shotter's Nation' and the band's 2005 debut, 'Down In Albion'. Speaking about the album, Pete Doherty said: "I don’t want this to be half arsed, I want to get up there and really fucking smash it out. Babyshambles aren’t back – this band has always been here."

Meanwhile, Nine Inch Nails release 'Hesitation Marks', their first studio album in five years. Produced by Reznor, the album features guest appearances by bassist Pino Palladino, who regularly plays with The Who, and Fleetwood Mac guitarist Lindsey Buckingham. The album is available in two different versions: a standard, "loud" master, available on CD, iTunes and elsewhere, and an "audiophile" mastering available only to those purchasing any version of the album through the band's website.

Elsewhere there are new releases from Volcano Choir, The Strypes, The 1975, Rizzle Kicks, Hot Natured, Goldie Lookin' Chain, Chelsea Wolf, Glasvegas, John Legend, John Wizards, Splashh, Holograms, Neko Case, Twenty One Pilots, Goodie Mob and Ariana Grande.

In the singles releases, there are new tracks from London Grammar, Goldfrapp, Deap Vally, The Lumineers and Glass Animals with Katy Perry's 'Roar' also available after the singer brought its release forward.

Albums and EPs released today:

The 1975 - 'The 1975'
Ariana Grande - 'Yours Truly'
Babyshambles - 'Sequel To The Prequel'
Chelsea Wolfe - 'Pain Is Beauty'
Glasvegas - 'Later... When The TV Turns To Static'
Goldie Lookin' Chain - 'Kings of Caerleon'
Goodie Mob - 'Age Against The Machine'
Holograms - 'Forever'
Hot Natured - 'Different Sides Of The Sun'
John Legend - 'Love In The Future'
John Wizards - 'John Wizards'
Neko Case - 'The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love'
Nine Inch Nails - 'Hesitation Marks'
Rizzle Kicks - 'Roaring 20s'
Splashh - 'Comfort'
The Strypes - 'Snapshot'
Twenty One Pilots - 'Vessel'
Volcano Choir - 'Repave'

Singles released today:

London Grammar - 'Strong'
Katy Perry - 'Roar'
Goldfrapp - 'Drew'
Deap Vally - 'Bad For My Body'
The Lumineers - 'Submarines'
Glass Animals - 'Black Mambo'

Read More On This Artist

More News
Lucy Rose announces UK tour and promises to play new material
Sleaford Mods' Jason Williamson: 'Bono's such a massive cunt'
Future Islands' Samuel T Herring feared he 'was going to die' earlier this year
Madonna calls new album leak 'a form of terrorism'
New Official Chart Show host Clara Amfo is 'surprised at how nice everyone's been'
Wiley reschedules tour following unrelated shooting outside London venue
Wu-Tang's RZA: 'I used to do rap battles on the spot where Eric Garner was killed'
Pond unveil new video for track 'Sitting Up on Our Crane' - watch
The 1975 named as the hardest-working band this year with 195 shows in 29 countries
Muse update fans on new album as they record with orchestra in Milan – watch
Apple did not intentionally delete music from users' iPods, jury finds
Scott Stapp alleges that 'the heart of ISIS is in my own family' in uncovered 911 calls...
Florence & The Machine and Alt-J added to Flow Festival line-up
AC/DC sell out Wembley Stadium gig in 60 minutes
Laura Marling announces new album 'Short Movie' – hear first song now
D'Angelo team confirm release of new album was brought forward following Ferguson protests
St Vincent reveals 'Birth In Reverse' video and says she has recorded songs with Carrie...
Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars perform 'Uptown Funk' on finale of 'The Voice US'...
Kendrick Lamar premieres brand new song on 'The Colbert Report' – watch
The Decemberists share new song 'The Wrong Year' - listen
Records by Sex Pistols, Chic, Neil Young, Lou Reed added to Grammy Hall of Fame
Former BBC Radio 1 DJ Chris Denning sentenced to 13 years for sexual abuse

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM