MIA and Eminem lead new album releases (November 4)

New albums from Tinie Tempah, Icona Pop, Swearin', Connan Mockasin and Los Campesinos! are also out this week

MIA and Eminem lead new album releases (November 4)

Photo: Press

MIA and Eminem release new albums today (November 4).

'Matangi' is MIA's fourth album and her first since 'MAYA' in 2010. Originally scheduled for release in late 2012, the album has been delayed with MIA claiming that the album was "too positive" for her record label Interscope. In a recent NME interview, MIA said she had been determined that the album wouldn't jump on the dubstep bandwagon. "In the last two years it's been cool to do dark shit," she said. "Everyone's been slowing your shit down and making you slur. That's not 'Matangi'."

Meanwhile, Eminem releases 'The Marshall Mathers LP 2'. The album is the US rapper's seventh effort and includes the singles 'Berzerk' and 'The Monster', featuring Rihanna. 'The Monster' went straight to Number One in the Official UK Single Chart yesterday (November 3).

Also out today are new albums by Tinie Tempah, Avril Lavigne, Chase & Status, Connan Mockasin, Cut Copy, Icona Pop, James Arthur, Kiran Leonard, Los Campesinos!, Midlake, Oh Land, Papa, Swearin', The Wanted and Young Knives. The deluxe edition of David Bowie's 'The Next Day', featuring new songs and the James Murphy remix of 'Love Is Lost' is also available from today.

This week's new album and EP releases:

Avril Lavigne – 'Avril Lavigne'
Chase & Status – 'Brand New Machine'
Connan Mockasin - 'Caramel'
Cut Copy – 'Free Your Mind'
David Bowie - 'The Next Day Extra'
Eminem – 'The Marshall Mathers LP2'
The Flaming Lips – 'Peace Sword' (EP)
Icona Pop - 'This Is'
James Arthur – 'James Arthur'
Kiran Leonard – 'Bowler Hat Soup'
Los Campesinos! - 'No Blues'
MIA – 'Matangi'
Midlake – 'Antiphon'
Oh Land – 'Wishbone'
Papa – 'Tender Madness'
Pional – 'Invisible / Amenaza' EP
Swearin' – 'Surfing Strange'
Tinie Tempah – 'Demonstration'
The Wanted – 'Word Of Mouth'
Young Knives - 'Sick Octave'

Read More On This Artist

More News
Jamie T covers Townes Van Zandt's 'Waiting 'Round To Die' - listen
Eddie Vedder releases a cover of John Lennon's 'Imagine'
Cloud Nothings unveil 'New Here In' video – watch
45th anniversary release of 'The Velvet Underground' to include previously unreleased LP
Prince performs alongside Kendrick Lamar to mark double album release
Ryan Adams covers Foreigner's 'I Want To Know What Love Is' - listen
Stevie Nicks shares new song 'Mabel Normand'
Crowdfunder campaign to bring Foo Fighters to Cornwall raises nearly £100,000 in two days
Darlia to headline Club NME KOKO Halloween Ball
BBC Radio 1 and 2 play too much mainstream music, claims Radio Centre study
Midweek chart update: Jamie T on course for Number One position
David Bowie teases album artwork for 'Nothing Has Changed'
NME readers vote Arctic Monkeys best headliner at this year's festivals
Ed Sheeran dedicates song to David Cameron
Metallica's Lars Ulrich 'immensely inspired' by U2 iTunes giveaway
Aphex Twin says he believes in the Illuminati and that September 11 was an 'inside job'
Johnny Marr says he makes 'outside music' concept to combat 'weedy, mopey shit'
BBC Four to show Foo Fighters documentary 'Sonic Highways'
Paramore's Hayley Williams accuses One Direction of copying New Found Glory
Kiss' Gene Simmons says that no 'iconic' new artists have emerged since 1988
Prince takes part in Facebook fan Q&A and only answers one question
Slipknot reveal plan to burn camel dung at Knotfest to give festival its own unique smell

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today