Red Hot Chili Peppers and Mars Volta supergroup Antemasque announce debut album

Self-titled record will be available on July 15

Red Hot Chili Peppers and Mars Volta supergroup Antemasque announce debut album

Photo: Getty

Antemasque – the new band featuring Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodríguez-López and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea – will release their self-titled debut album in July.

The band have shared a number of songs in recent weeks, including 'People Forget', '4AM' and 'Hangin' In The Lurch', all of which will feature on the album when it is released on July 15. There is also a new Antemasque song streaming online – scroll down to hear 'Drown All Your Witches' now.

A statement issued by the band reads: "If the whole thing looked unplanned, that’s because it was. The anticipation of what the reaction from fans and critics would be was very real for us with every new song we put out."

'People Forget', '4AM' and 'Hangin' In The Lurch' are all available to download now via Rodríguez-López's label, Nadie Sound. The first 10,000 orders will receive 'Drown All Your Witches' as a free download.

As reported earlier this week (April 8) the musicians are working alongside former Mars Volta drummer Dave Elitch on the project. It marks the first time since that Bixler-Zavala and Rodríguez-López have worked together since the demise of The Mars Volta last year.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Run The Jewels release new track 'Bust No Moves' - listen
Florence + The Machine's second Coachella set cut to 30 minutes due to broken foot
Four Tet plays surprise set at London's Phonica for Record Store Day - watch
Jay Z's Tidal streaming service parts ways with CEO just two weeks after launch
Video evidence of Suge Knight's alleged hit-and-run attack released by court - watch
Prince's Facebook page allegedly hacked, hacker says he 'doesn't care about his...
Marilyn Manson to play hitman in new crime film 'Let Me Make You A Martyr'
Lou Reed would be 'amused but secretly delighted' by Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame...
Emily Eavis denies tabloid reports that Prince pulled out of headlining Glastonbury
Royal Blood don wigs and Hawaiian shirts for 'Conan' performance - watch
Future Islands reveal Record Store Day song 'The Chase'
Tyler, The Creator reveals 'Cherry Bomb' album bonus song 'Yellow' - listen
Michael Bublé apologises after body shaming accusations: 'Women are to be celebrated and...
Diplo says he is 'actively' pursuing a collaboration with Robert Plant after Instagram...
The Prodigy team up with Sleaford Mods for 'Ibiza' video - watch
Bill Ward accuses Ozzy Osbourne of making 'false claims, elitist comments and rude...
Blur share new song 'My Terracotta Heart' and reveal Record Store Day plans
Alice Glass hits out at Ethan Kath's decision to continue Crystal Castles without her
Former Rolling Stones member Bill Wyman to release first solo album in 33 years
Matt Skiba on Blink-182 plans: 'We are hopeful to do more stuff in the future'
Miley Cyrus recording with Flaming Lips and Ariel Pink
Green Day joined by Rancid's Tim Armstrong at first US gig in two years

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM