Arctic Monkeys, Future Islands, Courtney Barnett nominated for AIM Independent Music Awards

The ceremony will take place on September 2 in London

Arctic Monkeys, Future Islands, Courtney Barnett nominated for AIM Independent Music Awards

Photo: Andy Ford/NME

The nominations for the fourth annual AIM Independent Music Awards have been revealed.

Arctic Monkeys, Future Islands, London Grammar, Courtney Barnett and Blood Orange have all been nominated for awards and winners will be revealed at a ceremony at The Brewery in Clerkenwell, London on September 2.

London Grammar have scored the most nominations including for Best Live Act, Independent Breakthrough of The Year, Independent Track of The Year and Independent Album of The Year, while Arctic Monkeys have been tipped in the Independent Album of The Year and Independent Track of The Year categories. Future Islands have received nominations for Independent Breakthrough of The Year and Independent Track of The Year and Courtney Barnett has been nominated for Independent Breakthrough of The Year.

Because Music, Domino, Fearless Records, Hospital Records, Ninja Tune and Secretly Group are up against each other in the Independent Label Of The Year category.

The nominations are:

Best Small Label - Sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services
Marshall Teller Records
National Anthem
Sonic Cathedral

Best Live Act - in association with Songkick
Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip
Five Finger Death Punch
London Grammar
Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Best 'Difficult' Second Album - in association with XFM
Anna Calvi – One Breath
Ben Watt – Hendra
Blood Orange – Cupid Deluxe
The Pretty Reckless – Going to Hell
Withered Hand – New Gods

Golden Welly Award For Best Independent Festival - in association with AIF and DIY
Barn on the Farm
In The Woods

Hardest Working Band Or Artist - in association with Jack Daniel's
Gabby Young & Other Animals

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year - sponsored by 7digital
Courtney Barnett
Future Islands
London Grammar
Young Fathers

Independent Track Of The Year - sponsored by Spotify
Arctic Monkeys – Do I Wanna Know?
FKA Twigs – Water Me
Future Islands – Seasons (Waiting On You)
London Grammar – Strong
Sampha – Too Much
Twin Atlantic – Heart and Soul

Independent Video Of The Year - sponsored by Vevo
Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip – You Will See Me
FKA Twigs – Water Me
James – Moving On
Liars – Mess On A Mission
Royal Canoe – Birthday

Indie Champion Of The Year - sponsored by CI
Alex Baker, Kerrang! Radio
Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music
Charles Caldas, Merlin
John Doran, The Quietus
Tim Palmer & Clemence Godard, Bird on the Wire

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year - in association with Amazon Music
Cabaret Voltaire – Collected Works 1983 – 1985
Nightmares on Wax - N.O.W.Is The Time
Small Faces – Here Comes The Nice – Immediate Years Box Set 1967 – 1969
The Twilight Sad: Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters (Expanded Edition)
Various – Purple Snow – Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound

Independent Album Of The Year - sponsored by MixRadio
Actress – Ghettoville
Arctic Monkeys – AM
East India Youth – Total Strife Forever
Fred V & Grafix – Recognise
Gruff Rhys – American Interior
Kate Tempest – Everybody Down
London Grammar – If You Wait
Mogwai – Rave Tapes
Tune-Yards – Nikki Nack
Within Temptation – Hydra

Independent Label Of The Year - sponsored by Believe Digital
Because Music
Fearless Records
Hospital Records
Ninja Tune
Secretly Group

Innovator Award – Steve Goodman, Hyperdub Records.

Pioneer Award - sponsored by The Orchard: Martin Mills, Beggars Group

Outstanding Contribution To Music - sponsored by eMusic: Recipient TBA

Read More On This Artist

More News
Noel Gallagher reveals that he is already halfway through making new solo album
Noel Gallagher, Alt-J and Portishead to headline Latitude 2015
Carly Rae Jepsen releases new single 'I Really Like You' - listen
Marilyn Manson joins Smashing Pumpkins onstage in Sydney - watch
Suge Knight taken to hospital for third time after firing his lawyers
Wu-Tang Clan's secret album 'Once Upon A Time In Shaolin' could go on sale in 88...
Drenge stream new track 'Never Awake' - listen
Kanye West premieres studio version of 'All Day' - listen
M83 and Haim team up for new song 'Holes In The Sky' - listen
Prince William helps name Jessie Ware's puppy
Kasabian, Calvin Harris, Sam Smith and more announced for V Festival 2015
Björk's next video to be available on virtual reality platform Oculus Rift
Kanye West tells Oxford University audience: 'If I can remove my ego, there's hope for...
Slaves announce UK headline tour
Jimmy Page ramps up feud over Robbie Williams' home renovations
David Beckham agrees to appear in Noel Gallagher's next music video
Mumford & Sons announce details of new album 'Wilder Mind', plus UK live date
Pussy Riot reveal new song and appear in new episode of 'House of Cards'
Glastonbury 2015: Emily Eavis says neither Coldplay nor Florence + The Machine are headlining
The Libertines to play Lollapalooza Berlin 2015
Pantera say they are 'disgusted' by vandalism of Dimebag Darrell's grave
Garbage to celebrate 20 years of debut album with Paris and London gigs

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM