The Invisible - 'Rispah'

Adventurous and luxurious

The Invisible - 'Rispah'

Album Info

  • Release Date: June 11, 2012
  • Label: Ninja Tune
  • Fact: Their 2009 debut was nominated for the Mercury Prize.
7 / 10 The Invisible might be from London, but their songs are as unearthly as Boris Johnson’s space-helmet hair. With second album ‘Rispah’ they’ve gone all ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ with booming, space-aged beats. Minimalist starter ‘A Particle of Love’ launches into the unknown with sci-fi instrumentals and otherworldly background chants. ‘Surrender’ voyages over to the ambient sunshine percussion of TV On The Radio with singer/guitarist Dave Okumu’s neurotic vocals beaming through, while penultimate track ‘The Stain’ is haunting – as full of futuristic tension as stormtroopers in The Apprentice boardroom. Adventurous, forward-looking and luxurious, all at the same time.

Anna Conrad

To rate this track, log in to NME.COM

To read all our reviews first - days before they appear online - check out NME magazine, on sale every Wednesday


Please login to add your comment.

More Videos
More The Invisible
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM