Black Submarine - 'New Shores'

Members of The Verve and Portishead create an enigmatic world of pastoral folk and psychedelic pop

  • Release Date 10 Mar, 2014
  • Record Label Kobalt Music
  • Black Submarine - 'New Shores'
6 / 10
Black Submarine would have been the original Verve reformed – minus Richard Ashcroft – if drummer Pete Salisbury wasn’t, according to Nick McCabe, loyal to their former singer. As such, it’s impossible to listen to ‘New Shores’ removed from the politics of The Verve and, perhaps unsurprisingly, it’s something of a confused album recorded and mixed in sporadic bursts with rotating vocalists. Featuring McCabe, bassist Simon Jones, Coldplay/Goldfrapp/Verve arranger Davidé Rossi and ex-Portishead drummer Mig Schillace, it covers space rock (‘Here So Rain’), pastoral folk (‘Move Me A Mountain’) and psychedelic pop (‘Is This All We Feel’), without ever settling. It’s an intriguing world for Verve fans to decipher, but more of a splurge than an album of conviction.

Phil Hebblethwaite

Share This

More Reviews

Fufanu - 'Few More Days To Go'

**PIC Blur-endorsed Icelandic duo move from techno to post-punk on an itchy claustrophobic debut


Ty Segall - 'Ty Rex'

The Californian garage king's T Rex covers album shows his melodic muscle


Black Mass - Film Review

Johnny Depp plays a monstrous Boston gangster in a disguise so unsettling you’ll struggle to recognise him


Foo Fighters - 'St Cecilia'

An EP dedicated to victims of the Paris attacks shows the Foos are on defiant form

Connect With Us
This Week's Magazine