Franz Ferdinand and Sparks share new collaborative track ‘Johnny Delusional’ – listen

The two bands release their debut album as 'FFS' in June

Franz Ferdinand and Sparks have shared a new track from their upcoming joint album.

The two acts, who are collaborating under the name FFS, will release their debut on June 8 via Domino. Following on from ‘Piss Off’, you can now hear ‘Johnny Delusional’ beneath.

‘FFS’ was produced by John Congleton (St Vincent, David Byrne, Anna Calvi) and recorded at London’s RAK Studios. Talks between the two bands regarding a collaboration happened around the time Franz Ferdinand released their 2004 single ‘Take Me Out’. However, it wasn’t until 2013 that plans were forged.

“We approached it the way bands do with their first record,” said Franz Ferdinand’s Alex Kapranos about the 2014 recording sessions for ‘FFS’. “We had the songs first, rehearsed them and then recorded it all together, in a room. So no hanging around or fannying about.”

“The real motivation was to make something new, not ‘Franz featuring Russell Mael’, or ‘Sparks with Franz Ferdinand backing them,'” added Kapranos.

The album tracklisting is as follows:

‘Johnny Delusional’
‘Call Girl’
‘Dictator’s Son’
‘Little Guy From The Suburbs’
‘Police Encounters’
‘Save Me From Myself’
‘So Desu Ne’
‘The Man Without A Tan’
‘Things I Won’t Get’
‘The Power Couple’
‘Collaborations Don’t Work’
‘Piss Off’

FFS, the album, is available on CD and download and also as 16-track double vinyl + limited edition double colour vinyl special edition & deluxe CD editions featuring four extra tracks.

FFS will play their first ever gig at Glasgow Arts School on June 16 before playing the much larger Troxy in London on June 29. Gigs in Zagreb, Brussels and Paris will fall between the two as well as festival appearances at Benicàssim, Slovakia’s Pohoda and Lollapalooza in Berlin.

Further European dates in July follow, with gigs in Lyon, Amsterdam and Cologne all scheduled.