Download A Free Mixtape Of Øya Festival Bands – Part One – With Marina, Casiokids and More

Norway’s Øya Festival is the largest outdoor music festival in Oslo, and it’s back for its eighth year. Running from August 10th-14th, we’ll be there to see the likes of the Flaming Lips, M.I.A., Pavement, Iggy & the Stooges and LCD Soundsystem, enjoy the sandy beaches and the beautiful fjords, and to experience Oslo nightlife, complete with DJ-sets from Jamie XX, Four Tet and Caribou.

Not only is Øya Festival officially the greenest festival in Europe, but its organisers are also quite generous. We’ve been given a whole slew of tracks to share with you for free, courtesy of some of the festival’s biggest acts, and some Norwegian ones you’ve probably never heard of – but you really should.

Pic: Erik Svendsen


In this first mixtape installment, we’ve got Marina and the Diamonds and Cymbals Eat Guitars, as well as six Norwegian acts that should be on your new music radar.

Preview the tracks here – download at the end

1. Marina and the Diamonds – ‘Oh No!’ (Grum remix)
This hot remix can be found in Marina’s single package, including other remixes from Jaymo and Andy George, Steve Pitron, Max Sanna and Active Child.

2. Obliteration – ‘Catacombs of Horror’
Norway is pretty well-known for its metal music. While metal might not be your cup of tea, these four Norwegians have already toured in England and the USA, so they’re worth checking out.


3. Torgny – ‘The Only Game’
The former frontman of hardcore punk rock band Amulet, Torgny is now trying something a little slower in his solo project.

4. Kenneth Isak & the Freedom Machines – ‘You Lived in a World of Your Own’
Here’s another chance for you experience the softer side of Norwegian music. Kennethn Ishak has been recording music for more than ten years, both solo and with various projects. Here’s a track with his new band, The Freedom Machines.

5. Cymbals Eat Guitars – ‘Ballad of Big Nothing’
New York indie rockers Cymbals Eat Guitars supported the Flaming Lips on tour last year, and they’ll be joining them again at this year’s Øya Festival.

6. The Megaphonic Thrift – ‘Acid Blues’
Another Norwegian act at this year’s Øya Festival, this four-piecer released their debut album ‘Decay Decoy’ in March and recently toured the UK with A Place To Bury Strangers. They’ll also be hitting up Standon Calling and Summer Sundae Festivals this summer.

7. 1349 – ‘Atomic Chapel’
1349 have been around since the early ’90s and their music is what Norwegians call “black metal”. A bit heavier than the usual Daily Download material, but worth a listen.

8. Casiokids – ‘Verdens Største Land’ (Velferd Remix)
Even though they sing in Norwegian, this electro-pop quintet have managed to achieve international success. They’re one of the Norwegian bands we can’t wait to see this year at Øya.

Download Part One of the mixtape here.