Free MP3s from Scroobius Pip and Kevin Devine

Come 2013, Dan Le Sac and Scroobius Pip will be joining forces again to create a new album. But in the meantime, Mr. Pip’s been working on his own solo thing, and will be releasing his solo punk/rock/hip-hop-infused album, ‘Distraction Pieces’, on September 19th. (Click here to pre-order).

An early version of a track from the album, called ‘Let Em Come’, premiered on Zane Lowe’s Radio 1 show last night. But if you missed it, fret not. We’ve got it right here.

‘Let Em Come’ (the final cut will feature Sage Francis), was Scroobius Pip’s inspiration to make the album in the first place. “I had the lyrics in mind and the general feel,” he says. “The rumbling, ever present, synth line, the pounding live drums, the cutting guitars. Vocally it’s hard to sum up but I guess it’s about sticking at something that you are passionate about past those exciting first few years, and keeping that passion despite the obstacles and pitfalls.”

We’ve also got an exclusive first crack at Kevin Devine’s new tune, as remixed by M83’s Morgan Kibby (aka White Sea). ’11-17’ is taken from Devine’s forthcoming album, ‘Between The Concrete And Clouds’ (out next month via Big Scary Monsters Records). Give it a spin below: