NME Radio New Noise Tracklist: Saturday 10 October 2009


I reckon the best single moment of any song included in the tracklist from this week’s NME Radio New Noise arrives at exactly 2 minutes 36 seconds into No Age’s Losing Feeling, when the song drops key and bursts from shimmering metallic monotony into one of those riffs that makes you grin wherever and whenever you’re listening to it.

That said there’s also the bit at around 2:16 into The XX’s reworking of Florence and the Machine’s reworking of You Got The Love, when Jamie XX’s rumbling two-step uses exactly the right pinch of Ms Welch’s original vocal to lift the remix into one of the year’s best proper nod moments.


Or how about a minute and two seconds into the hypnotic post punk Battles meets Ponytail throb of Jela by Cold Pumas? A change of rhythm that, as I sort-of mentioned on air, makes my good side want to be a bit bad.

Hopefully you’ll find one particular bit of a song you like somewhere below. I’ll be back with more NME Radio New Noise this Saturday night at 7. (Listen online, on DAB, on digital telly or on the iPhone App. Find out how more here)

NME Radio New Noise Tracklist: Saturday 10 October 2009

Hour 1 (7-8pm)
The Horrors ‘Whole New Way’ (XL) single out 2nd November
Refused ‘New Noise’ (Burning Heart) from album ‘The Shape of Punk To Come: A Chimerical Bombination in Twelve Bursts’
Local Natives ‘Camera Talk’ (Infectious) single out 19th October
Julian Casablancas ’11th Dimension’ (Rough Trade) single out 2nd November
Beat The Radar ’19, 20, 21, 22′ (Akoustik Anarkhy) single out 26th October
Eddy Current Suppression Ring ‘Which Way To Go‘ (Melodic) from album ‘Primary Colours’
Spirit Spine ‘Crashers (Highs & Lows)’ (from mp3hugger blog)
White Belt Yellow Tag ‘Remains’ (Distiller) single out 19th October
Wetdog ‘Lower Leg’ (Angular) from EP out 2nd November
Arctic Monkeys ‘Cornerstone‘ (Domino) from album ‘Humbug’
Everything Everything ‘My Keys Your Boyfriend’ (Young & Lost) single out now
The Depreciation Guild ‘Darklooming’ (from The Music Slut blog)
Florence & The Machine ‘You Got The Love (The xx remix) (from Stereogum blog)
Phoenix ‘Fences’ (Friendly Fires Edit) (Virgin) single out 19th October

Hour 2 (8-9pm)
The Drums ‘Let’s Go Surfing’ (Moshi Moshi) from ‘Summertime!’ EP out this week
Total Babe ‘Shape Up’ (SO tm) from EP out now
Cate Le Bon ‘Me Oh My’ (Irony Board) from album ‘Me Oh My’ out this week
Mirrors ‘Into The Heart‘ (moshi moshi) single out 2nd November
Electric Wire Hustle ‘They Don’t Want’ (from Blahblahblahscience blog)
Wild Beasts ‘All the King’s Men‘ (Domino) from album ‘Two Dancers’
Fool’s Gold ‘Surprise Hotel’ (IAMSOUND)
F*ck Buttons ‘Space Mountain’ (ATP) from album ‘Tarot Sport’ out this week
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart ‘Higher Than The Stars’ (Fortuna Pop) from EP out this week
The Raveonettes ‘Last Dance’ (Fierce Panda) single out this week
Banjo Or Freakout ‘Left It Alone’ (Half Machine) single out 19th October
Cold Pumas ‘Jela‘ (Hungry For Power) ltd. 12″ single out now (also available from XXjfg blog)
Salem ‘Frost‘ (Audraglint) single out now
No Age ‘Losing Feeling’ (Sub Pop) from ‘Losing Feeling’ EP out now